You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SPS Governance Proposal: Update Terms Of Service To Prohibit Use Of Battle Helpers in Modern Ranked, Tourneys, and Brawls

in #sps9 months ago

Thank's for the reply. Please note that I was writing in a hurry and didn't mean to be quite as rude as it sounds.

Sharing of manually written notes is prohibited? Databases etc. that are generated throug automation and sharing of such is prohibited? Sharing? And we can share/distribute and use said tools for wild but have to forget everything for the other modes?

This is a blockchain game afterall. Naturally anyone can create a publicly available app that analyzes past blockchain entries (i.e. past matches) and generates comprehensive statistical reports about winrates of cards (and teams) in matchups and rulesets. And share those at will.

I assume what you want to say is that 'the use of those tools during team creation shall be prohibited'. And then we're back to point 4 of the classification that is the use of real-time aides during team creation.

Sorry but you gotta ditch the 'sharing between users' aspect. It makes no sense.

Sort:  

I didn't interpret your comment as rude so no worries there @absoluthenne.

And to address your point, there was many ways to go with this, and all have their own impact. Ultimately the idea was to create a league where human vs human play could occur without assistance.

You would be shocked at how many people can get nuanced as to what that means. I've heard far too many ways myself. :)

The sharing aspect is in there intentionally as there are ways to work around the intent if sharing was not prohibited for the purposes of this proposal.

Again people can use tools and automation for 1/2 the game, Wild Ranked.

I do appreciate the civil conversation even if we don't agree on this issue.

Hive is a civil place, so i've learned.

I don't generally disagree with you on the issue. Banning live assist from the formats as was done with bots is justified.

I played ranked manually daily for two years, I hated playing xyz3265 and then xyz3761 and then xghtdf342 ... you know what i mean.

Loved getting my xbot, though. it actually took a huge burden of my chest. I can now use the time for other things, looking at cards, rentals, tribaldex, reading lengthy proposals (:P) ... anything but clicking teams together for 2 hours every day.

Was salty that it had to move to wild a few months later and after I just optimised the deck for modern within my limited financial options. It's doing fine there so i don't mind.

I like playing brawls, rarely turnaments, and I know my deck and don't need assistance to slap together a few competitive teams here and there. I never used a battle helper for those matches.

So I have no conflict of interest with this proposal.

It's just that the wording of the part of the proposal, as you said, leaves way too much room for interpretation, or nuances regarding what it means - that for a 'quasi text of law' it's not very reliable. Adding a 'for the purpose of live team creation' at the end would solve this perhaps.

Or do you want people to completely stop analysing past modern ranked and brawl matches and to provide those analytics? Even for the purpose of learning aside from live matches?

I doubt that's going to happen, the blockchain is a public space and where is demand, there'll be supply.