Deadlocked? Time For The Boss To Decide

in #sps3 months ago

This is an update to everyone on the process to determine the ultimate fate of the Soulbound Cards. I appreciate all the input and feedback received, and I am impressed at the level of respect people gave towards the process of finding a compromise.

---

Complex Situation

This issue is different than many in that its not binary. There are many different outcomes possible. And because there are so many variables, finding a solution wasn't easy. But we did try and that's important imo.

---

In the end, we can summarize the significant issues as follows - with each person placing a different priority on what is most important:

  1. effect on the economy short term (land, ranked play, tourneys, brawls)
  2. effect on the economy long term (ie what is the future model going forward)
  3. effect on the players that view SB cards as part of their ROI
  4. effect on the players that view SB cards as enhancements to their playable deck
  5. effect to the players that need to finish their set (ie moving a few to max a card out, or buying from the market)
  6. effect on the players that want to rent/sell/trade/transfer SB cards
  7. effect on the players that don't want more than 1 max version
  8. effect on the ability to attract new players - specifically their ability to compete without these cards puts new players at a big disadvantage.

These are not ordered in terms of importance, because each person has their own view of the importance. For instance, some feel #6 is most important, while others feel #2 is, etc...

---

I do believe every one of these points has validity, and I was impressed that many people understood this too. I feel we failed to reach a compromise because the situation was so complex, not because people didn't try to find a solution. Many players were willing to "give" to try to help the process. But in the end, we just couldn't bridge the gaps because getting this "right" is so important. My belief is we tried our best as a community and we've matured a lot since our early days.
---

Let The Boss Decide

I feel grateful that the owners of Splinterlands give us a high degree of input and let us try to find solutions to problems we feel are important. In the end though, its the owners of the company that have the ultimate stake in the game. They have not only their own assets invested, but also have their careers and reputation on the line each day.

At some point, once we know they have listened to us, we need to kick the decision upstairs and let the boss decide. Basically we need to TRUST they will do what is right for us, especially when weighing all the factors involved that we've successfully pointed out.

I 100% trust @yabapmatt understands these issues regarding SB cards. I believe his decision will take all factors into account, and he will arrive at a solution that prepares us for the future. I think his goals are the same as most people here (growing the game, building trust and value for the long term, etc...).

Only Matt, as the ultimate Boss, can know what he has planned for the future and how this integrates with that vision.

---

Again I appreciate and respect all those that gave me feedback on this issue, and your thoughts and comments were shared up to the highest level. Thank you!

ps. the vote of this post will go 100% to the @sps.dao.

Sort:  

This is the conclusion I came to after all of the back and forth as well. Matt said he has some vision where they'll be unlocked via a land token or something along those lines. Honestly that is not the best sounding option that I've heard, but I'm willing to wait and see what he presents. Maybe I'm not understanding what he meant, but I think the idea of only land owners being able to unlock them would be problematic. All of that said we don't have any final details and just a one-off comment on a town hall to work with. I think at this point the DAO shouldn't really be trying to dictate how this will be resolved and just wait until Matt shares more details. We can go from there. Appreciate you Dave!

I don't think that his approach goes necessarily on that line, meaning that maybe the landowners will be able to produce the token or resource needed to unlock.

All speculation of course, my guess is that whatever the landowners produce in order to unlock SB would be open for sales. So from one side gates the way to unlock and from other gives more value to lands, having in mind that lands won't be able to produce anything significant until 2.0 I'm not sure if this is so bad idea. For example, could be one option for the research token.

Yea I get it, I just don't think we have enough info to really say anything at this point. My biggest complaint was the idea of having them be unlockable for use on land without having any clearly defined price point for full unlock. (Currently 2x burn value to stake on land whenever that gets implemented.)

Very well said . All the ideas have been put on the table in an incredibly nuanced situation. Yaba will have to consider everything out there and needs to allow this mechanic to get back on track so we all know how to plan going forward.

Thank you for your witness vote!
Have a !BEER on me!
To Opt-Out of my witness beer program just comment STOP below


Hey @cryptkeeper17, here is a little bit of BEER from @isnochys for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Thank you for your witness vote!
Have a !BEER on me!
To Opt-Out of my witness beer program just comment STOP below


Hey @cryptkeeper17, here is a little bit of BEER from @isnochys for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

Thank you for your witness vote!
Have a !BEER on me!
To Opt-Out of my witness beer program just comment STOP below


Hey @cryptkeeper17, here is a little bit of BEER from @isnochys for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Thank you for your witness vote!
Have a !BEER on me!
To Opt-Out of my witness beer program just comment STOP below


Hey @cryptkeeper17, here is a little bit of BEER from @isnochys for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Howdy.
Not sure if you remember me. I am the one who was telling everyone that things were being done wrong. Playing poker in a house of cards.

Your delegation along with BeeYou did help me get started.

I have reached a point where I can now demonstrate activity in the real world by utilisation of the COLT currency. The token has increased in value of 5% and will do so again on the release price at the end of April 1st week in May.

It has been listed on Tribaldex for a while and a security of 500 HIVE buy wall established. A wall 0.0000001 above the original release price has begun.

The release price will never go down. Once an increase in the release has been made it will not be lowered in relation to HIVE.

The token value will go up by purchase of the token through coffee sales.

HODL a few years offers the best value. My opinion but I am bias and not a financial advisor lol.

Hey thehive, yes I do remember you. Glad you are doing well and have your own project! I wish you the best with it and nothing but success!

Copying the link to my post here, Dave - as you just suggested. Hope Yaba will be able to come up with a good solution after having received so much feedback from the players over the past few months.

https://peakd.com/splinterlands/@shadowch4ser/some-proposed-solutions-for-soulbound-sb-reward-cards-in-splinterlands

thank you again @shadowch4ser and I'm sure he will!!!

during the last eos i realized once again what a shitty situation we are in. when i realized that 90% of my rewards are sb cards that i don't need anymore and then a lot of potions. i'm thinking all the time if i should just rent out my cards and stop playing. with the rewards i feel kind of screwed it's just frustrating to open boxes every day that you can't use anymore. but hey, the main thing is that my iziar is still level 2^^

I fully support this. I wish we would do the same with a bunch of other issues too 😆

This post has been supported by @Splinterboost with a 12% upvote! Delagate HP to Splinterboost to Earn Daily HIVE rewards for supporting the @Splinterlands community!

Delegate HP | Join Discord