Death From Above

in #sps3 years ago (edited)

Splinterlands thumbnails.png

Hello Splinterlands community, summoners old and new.

I'm dc3ntr4lzd,

I've been playing Splinterlands for a few months, and now in Silver League III, I find that the more I play the less I know and the more I still have to learn. It's an amazing journey of evolving tactics and a level of complexity that only increases the more you get into the game.

Every attack has an effective way to defend against it. And certain abilities can mitigate and even nullify the mighty strength of any strong attacking deck.

But in silver league III, I will sometimes come across a particular mighty formation which make me tremble when I see them, a line-up I find is tougher to defend against. In part because there aren't that many options available in the lower level cards to really and effectively stop this attacking force.

I'm referring to these decks with ranged formations lined in the back, which are deadly, and will most often than not, bring death from above.

Whenever I encounter these trios in a battle, I know I'm almost certainly going to be decimated.

The ones I find the deadliest are:

Water Splinter:
water ranged.png

Axemaster: 2 damage with double strike = 4 damage.
Azmare Harpoonist: 3 damage.
Poseidon: 4 damage.

These all combine for a deadly strike force of 11 damage every turn.


Death Splinter:

death ranged.png

Grim Reaper: 3 damage
Octopider: 3 damage
Soulstorm: 3 damage

Combined these raged death squad deal 9 damage per round.


So, defending against the ranged death squads is pretty ineffective with only the shield ability and a card's shields, which are merely a way to slow down certain death, an not a effective way to seriously stop the inflicting barrage of pain that they inflict.

And unfortunately, there are not that many ways available to solidly defend against these deadly foes, or so I haven't found a reliable defense tactic.

Contessa L'Ament,

The death splinter Summoner has minus 1 ranged attack, which can help mitigate these deadly ranged squads.

And, there is only 1 card with headwinds ability in the level 1 cards, from the water splinter.

Naga headmaster

Other cards with Headwinds abilities that can help defend are:

Phantom of the abyss
Zalran Efreet
Light Elemental
Spirit Druid Grog
Warrior of Peace

But the issue is that the Headwinds ability on these cards, is only activated from level 3 onwards, which makes them pretty unaccessible to low-level summoners.

I will keep on experimenting and hope to find a proper tactic that will counter and disarm these deadly ranged squadrons, and in the meantime, will probably join them in attacking other poorly defended decks and bring them:

Death from Above.

This is an awesome game and you can come join and be a part of the community while also helping out players like myself, it's of no cost to you and I will be eternally grateful.
https://splinterlands.com?ref=dc3ntr4lzd

Peace, DC3LZD