You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SPS Governance Proposal: Update Terms Of Service To Prohibit Use Of Battle Helpers in Modern Ranked, Tourneys, and Brawls

in #sps10 months ago

I am very against both proposals but I'm gonna reply to this one because I think it's the most problematic of the 2.

The first one is mostly pointless. Regular users won't be able to bypass the ban, whales with bot farms will be able to do it undetected, if they want to. My biggest problem is updating the ToS because one day we might ban an innocent player and that is way worse than all the bot farms together.

The second one is worse because it benefits people with private battle helpers. Especially with your definition, it is an atrocity. That's like saying an Olympic athlete can use performance enhancing drugs if they manufacture them themselves. Even without this definition, it just stops public battle helpers not private ones.

I also read a comment where you said that 95% of the players will follow the rules. The problem is that the small % of players who won't follow the rules have thousands of accounts and/or are whales.

Sort:  

I appreciate you stating your thoughts and opinions to both me and the community. I disagree this will aid "the whales" at the expense of the innocent little guys. That is certainly not the intent.

While we may disagree on how this would impact the game and the community, I do share your passion for the non-whale players. I believe if his passes it will achieve making this game a fun and vibrant place for non-whale players in the leagues where this applies. However if I'm wrong, then we can always make a new proposal and I will be willing to pay 100K DEC again to fix it if necessary.

Again thank you for your input and for being part of the community Olaf! :)

I also appreciate your reply but it's not exactly whale vs non whale here. The community has always been vocal against bots but they were more prevalent during the DEC at over 1 cent days. However anti bot sentiment has been rising ever since the regular player got access to bots with archmage and xbot. Part of that comes from private bot owners who had the bot monopoly but not anymore. The anti bots in modern proposal would have never passed if there weren't public bots. It might have never even been a proposal. Personally, I think it's way better if everyone has access to bots and Battle helpers than only just a select few. This is more about fairness and leveling the playing field.

I don't like the "if this goes wrong I'll make a proposal to reverse it" approach. You may do it but it might not pass. If 66% of SPS approved it, it's not easy to sway half of that.

You also didn't address the worst part of the proposal. I don't like banning battle helpers because private ones will still be used. I'd rather have everyone use it than just 5% of the players. Ideally no one would use them but we don't live in an ideal world. However, allowing a battle helper that you built yourself is just wrong. What if I hired someone to build one for me? Is that ok? What's the difference? I paid for my xbot token. So, I should be allowed to use it if they're allowed in any form.

Just for context, I do own an xbot token that I have used to play most of my ranked battles for several months but I have barely used the battle helper. When I did it was to try to see how it worked. I haven't even used the free credits they gave us a while back when they released a browser extension. I do like playing my own games in tournaments and brawls.

We have a difference of opinion on what constitutes a game. There's nothing wrong with that, its just a fact.

On the point about what happens if people cheat point, I have addressed it at least 5 times in the 2 posts, so I apologize if I didn't reply to you. The bottom line is I disagree that private ones will still be used and only public ones won't be. I know people view human nature differently, but I believe that most people follow the rules.

Those that don't will stick out and they can be dealt with in many ways.

Again I appreciate the comments and I'm happy you are here in the ecosystem and enjoying the game. I am not against botting, I am just for having a human vs human mode as well where battle aids of any kind are not used. That is my goal, and you can have another goal. That's perfectly fine and I respect that we can vote on these things and collectively decide together what is good or not as a group!

If you want to have a mode without bots or battle helpers of any kind, why do you have that definition of a battle helper created by the player himself? At least, remove that exception, for fairness.

I'm still voting no on both, no matter what, even if my 40k SPS don't matter for the decision but you should, at least, remove that. The team should not even accept this proposal with that exception.

yes I am editing it after much feedback and will address exactly what you said. I'm close to putting out the final definition, just waiting on the feedback from those that have been giving their thoughts on discord.

And its ok if you don't vote for either proposal, that's the beauty of our process. You should vote how you think is best.

And thanks for the feedback on the definition.