SPS DAO Updates

in #spsdaolast month

The SPS DAO has had its fair share of growing pains as we continue to learn and define the scope of the DAO. Today I want to address a pain point that I've been trying to help mitigate by talking to creators of proposals and I'd like to set a clear stance on how to resolve this issue. Going forward we need to ensure that any proposals that are made, especially when it comes to spending DAO funds, have explicitly clear guidelines on how to execute the proposal, otherwise I will consider the proposal invalid.

Currently, we have multiple proposals that are all running with an aim at attempting to earmark DAO funds for specific causes, but simple accounting should make it obvious to anyone that looks that we don't have enough funds to cover a scenario in which all of the proposals pass. For example, a proposal that just says "The SPS DAO will pay the team $500,000" may have the best of intentions behind it, but there is no clear instruction on how to execute that proposal. The source of funding should be clear and anyone making a proposal that is unsure of how to source the funds or do accounting of the DAOs reserves can ask me for assistance.

Secondly, when multiple proposals are all running and targeting the same limited funds, it becomes unclear which takes priority. This makes clearly sourcing the funds to execute a proposal even more important. For example, if a proposal intends to overwrite a previously passed proposal and appropriate those funds, then it should be made clear in the new proposal. If we need to sell assets to acquire the funds for a proposal, that should be part of the proposal as I am not at liberty to pick and choose how to source funds from DAO assets.

Also, since the current exchange proposal seems likely to pass, I plan to make a new market maker proposal tomorrow. The current proposal seems to have good intentions, but there are technical conflicts that will require an additional proposal to clarify. The logistics of pursuing a tier 1 exchange listing are a bit more complicated than the way the proposal is written, so I'll do my best to clarify the need for a new market maker proposal below.

For the SPS DAO to be in a position to pursue a tier 1 exchange listing, we need to be able to show a history of solid liquidity and volume for our token. It's not something you can just do when you want to get listed. While the current proposal makes the 9% of token supply that is currently Unallocated available for a variety of exchange and market making related situations, I feel it would be best to create a separate proposal with a clearly defined contract for people to vote on to approve hiring a market maker.

I think there is a potential path forward with the current exchange proposal, but it is on us as a DAO to do the groundwork to be ready to execute on that opportunity if it becomes available. If/when the current proposal passes, I'll have a market maker proposal ready and if the DAO chooses to support it, I'll start doing what I can to execute on the exchange proposal as written. Thanks for your time and consideration.

Sort:  

I have spoken to Dave earlier and I support this line of thinking.

I like to point out the two proposals running from Matt doesn’t exactly satisfy that criteria.

That is the reason for my DV on those

👍

I didn't even know you put this out but its a fantastic job @clayboyn ... I agree that in order for you to do your job properly, that you must insist that proposal writers give you clear instructions in the proposals.

I think this will further help us mature as a DAO, and I'm happy to have you helping to guide us forward! Thank you!!!

This post has been supported by @Splinterboost with a 5% upvote! Delagate HP to Splinterboost to Earn Daily HIVE rewards for supporting the @Splinterlands community!

Delegate HP | Join Discord

Also I would suggest you post this from the official SPS DAO sites. The more people understand it, the better imo.

The question is how much value would you like your items to hold?

Then the follow up question skipping over all of the bollox is,
As a community what would you give to make that happen?

Without sacrifice there is no gain?
Is the community still strong enough to come together?

You could get this going with 10K and hammering along in 3 years.