You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SPS Governance Proposal - Ghost Card Liquidity Bots.

in #spsproposal25 days ago

I will try to get an exemption for you to run your bot in Modern if you are willing to vary your team performance to provide different levels of game play and of course not accept earnings too. Somehow I don't think you would like that given your "big fat no" here, but if so then hit me up on discord.

But its ok, you can vote how you like, that's the purpose of proposals and of owning SPS. Its what gives value to SPS!

Sort:  

of course not accept earnings too

You are asking for free labor here. I made a comment on a better solution that can integrate bots to the game in a healthier way. We need more matches and bots need to earn. We should be able to come to a more decentralized solution.

https://peakd.com/undefined/@vimukthi/re-warrentrx-2024520t14444136z

No I'm not asking for free labor at all. Please don't twist my words,

I read your comment and it misses the mark. The problem with player owned bots is their goal is to maximize earnings by trying to win (which they should), and this creates a situation where automation is better than humans. Thus the player bots will outperform the humans and 1) take a disproportionate share of the earnings and 2) more importantly, destroy the fun of the game when humans can't win against comparable bots.

We've already tried this and it doesn't work.

You are missing the purpose of the team liquidity bots. They are not there to do their best to win, they are there to help create the conditions for humans to enjoy the game by providing matches and appropriate level of competition. Just like a PVE mode in many games.

I understand your view, and but I 100% disagree with it. There is nothing wrong with PVE in the gaming world, and there is nothing wrong with the team setting the right conditions to make their game fun. This has nothing to do with decentralization, that's absurd. These bots take no prizes or earning. This is no different than the team creating a new card to counter an older OP card. That isn't centralization, that is called "balancing", and adding team liquidity bots serves the same purpose.

take a disproportionate share of the earnings

This is exactly why I proposed a penalty on earnings.

The problem with player owned bots is their goal is to maximize earnings by trying to win

Since bots must be registered as per my alternative suggestion for community bots, a set of terms and conditions can be given to community bot operators to adheres to. These conditions could include things that will limit the win rate. Bot operators are to be treated as service providers.

There is nothing wrong with PVE in the gaming world

Yes, but I would like to see it be a separate game mode. Ranked should remain exclusive to those who have assets. I'm okay with company operated bots as long as those accounts hold assets. If Steem Monsters Inc wants to have Ghost Cards, they should be a separate set of PvE Cards.

We could even have some lore about these PvE encounters in the arena. It can lead to a fun gameplay experience. PvE part will be explicit rather than a seeing a centralized party play against me without owning any assets in the game mode where everyone else is expected to own assets.

We have more agreements than you think. In a reply to a different user, you said:

I will try to get an exemption for you to run your bot in Modern if you are willing to vary your team performance to provide different levels of game play and of course not accept earnings too.

  • Create a portal (or even a support ticket on Discord) for bot owners to apply.
  • Terms and conditions that require operators to vary performance.

You and I are both open to these. You expect the operators to earn nothing while they have to purchase/rent assets and operate bots. I think they should earn 50% - 90% less than manual players like me.

PS: I have never used bots or battle helpers.

We have more agreements than you think.

I agree with this.

I don't mind registering bots either, I'd for for this part on its own. Your ideas can solve the problems if all of them were implemented together, but I think realistically that isn't likely to happen anytime soon.

For instance, you said we could limit the botted player accounts "win rate". I don't even know how you would do this, but I would be willing to listen to your ideas. However, I do know that many bot owners would not want their win-rates nerfed, they would scream loudly that they own assets and they bought them to win.

So in order to put together your much more complicated solution, then the process would need to bring in many of the stakeholders and get them to agree to your vision. I personally would be one that would be happy to explore these things, even though I'm doubtful it would lead to an acceptable solution. I do like to learn and explore new things, so feel free to message me on Discord if you like and I will participate if asked!

Your ideas can solve the problems if all of them were implemented together

That is how I formulated them.

I think realistically that isn't likely to happen anytime soon.

Unfortunately, I think you are right.

For instance, you said we could limit the botted player accounts "win rate". I don't even know how you would do this

Since the bots a registered under a set of terms and conditions, they can be banned for violations. Requiring a deposit (DEC, SPS, VOUCHER) that will be burned in the case of a ban could be added if a simple ban is not enough to keep bots complaint.

I do know that many bot owners would not want their win-rates nerfed

Then that is their problem. My aim is to find decentralized solutions that can bring SPS DAO closer to HIVE or BTC. As a bonus we will be more SEC proof.

So in order to put together your much more complicated solution, then the process would need to bring in many of the stakeholders and get them to agree to your vision.

For the time being I'm fine with @splinterlands controlled bots that do not earn rewards as long as they use real NFTs.

feel free to message me on Discord if you like and I will participate if asked!

Thank you very much. I rarely use Discord. But I will keep you in mind.

The current exploit of maxing just one or two splinters with the lowest cost cards to get easy wins over evenly assembled lower level decks takes much of the fun out of the game. No one enjoys getting thumped indiscriminately by higher level cards.
How about you petition the SPL team to only allow bronze level cards to be played while in bronze and allow players to stay at the level their cards are suited and progress to the next level when they are ready and at their own pace. Then a whole bunch of players will go back to modern and the game would be so much more enjoyable to play.

I don't think this is an exploit. The reason why you are playing against teams with max level cards is simply you don't have enough teams in Modern and that is keeping everyone down. With more teams those accounts will be much higher and then you won't face them.

I play Wild myself and play many matches against teams equal to me. My win rate is very close to 50% and my account plays at Diamond. So the problem isn't the summoner issue, the problem is there's not enough matches creating the ratings inflation that is needed to offset the season reset.

And this proposal will actually end up speeding up the solution that the team has chosen to solve the problem you stated. If it passes, then they will be able to many more liquidity bots that will help at all levels to get teams to where they are expecting to be.

The longer there is a denial of all of the problems that the current system creates the worse it will get. How many weeks has it been that it is not a problem and it will sort itself out? A big high to all those who spent thousands and have nothing to complain about. It wouldn't be a proper rebellion set if there wasn't a revolt. All those balls deep in quicksand there is no need to panic unless the next mini set is named rug pull.

ok I guess you have an agenda, so I apologize for trying to reply to you respectfully. I won't try to argue with someone that knows we are all doomed unless we do it his way. That's a waste of time for me.

So have a nice day and I wish you well in the world that caters to everything you want.

Oh no I am just an observer of what everyone can see.

ahh ok. That makes sense!

The number of times and places that you want to repeatedly stick your head in you are the one with an agenda. The way you are posturing yourself it looks like you want to be the next CEO and I would fully support you to this ambition. And maybe you would make a really good one. But before you get all lofty minded you need funding for it. You could continue to suck the life out of existing players who are getting tired of it or recruit lots of new players which is not so easy in a bear market. But if you really want to push it you could advertise the product and hope the SEC does not see it as selling unregistered securities (which you have no way of registering even if you wanted to). Or you could go down the other path of a referral system and hope that no one sees you as an Egyptian trying to build a monster pyramid. Either way it would be like walking bare foot on broken glass for you. Maybe the CEO spot will just fall into your lap so I wish you all the best in your aspirations.

So magnanimous of you to offer that to me. You seem like you run Splinterlands and I'm truly touched your spent the time to interact with me.

No I don't work for Splinterlands at all, but I do care about helping those that care about the game. I assumed you had the best interests of the community in mind, so that's why I offered to try to help you!

Yes - i'm far too stupid to know what is the best for the community.

are you? I really didn't know you at all.

I'm sorry to hear you have such a low opinion of yourself though. No one should go through life feeling they are stupid, so I'm sure you have a gift, now you just have to find it! Best wishes!