You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SPS Governance Proposal - Restrict Gladiator Cards Below Silver League

in #spsproposal5 months ago

"Throwing a nerf bomb at the gladiator system undermines the value of joining a guild."

And that is the reason why I never joined guild and brawl before the announcement of the Conscript. I can't use it for rank so why would I waste time joining guilds? Yes, I do get SPS but they also require weekly donations of SPS. It's like, "Hey, we'll give you three bread if you give us four. sounds fair?"

Sort:  

There are lots of reasons for joining a guild and most of the guilds don't enforce ongoing payments. The rewards include SPS and gladiators. I have a gold foil epic gladiator and if want I can burn it for 10k DEC but I would rather use it in battle.

A decent guild wants to make sure you benefit from being there, not lose out. I left my first guild because it was costing me more than I was gaining. Then I was poached by another which I tried to turn down, explaining why I left the first. Now I just contribute when I can and actually contribute more than I used to, because I'm benefiting more.

Right on minismallholding nothing to stop anyone from moving around to find a guild that suits you and respects you. Wouldn't it be good if the Splinterlands team created a space where guilds could register as new player friendly and actively encourage new players to join them and start earning their gladiator rewards. Rather than denying them the fun of using them show them how to get them early in their player experience. A greater emphasis on making the game fun to play is what is needed here.

I was thinking about this. EVERY new player gets assigned a random open guild. This can also be means of tutorial or getting to know the guild system.

Or if not auto assigned, just teach them how to join one and what are the benefits when they start.

For a new player that is yet to own any SPS then guild rewards would have to be one of the fastest ways to earn SPS. So I was thinking that to make it even more attractive for new players to join guilds early a requirement that the participating guilds delegate a nominal 200 SPS to the new entrant to help them on their way would really help. So when a new player arrives they need SPS and all they have to do is join one of those guilds and wow there is the easiest 200 SPS they will ever get. They would of course lose it if they were to leave or get kicked.

A greater emphasis on making the game fun to play is what is needed here.

I was literally just thinking the same thing myself last night, although for different reasons. I suspect focusing on on enjoyment of play will solve some other issues in the game too.