You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Splinterlands will try to implement anti-bot measures in Modern format.

in #spsproposallast year

I will just add my 2 cents here. I am voting No, the reason is that I have splinterlands assets, i.e. cards, and I like playing occasionally, but we all have other lives, and life gets busy, and I feel that my cards that are unrented are not utilising value without a bot. So I use a bot, for the times I am not playing.

I don't understand what the problem with bots are? they provide liquidity, they aren't as good as human players, and they improve the stats for splinterlands on a number of levels (i.e. number of battles, unique accounts etc.)

Splinterlands already has tournaments and brawls where bots aren't particularly prevalent. Lets put the anti-bot measures in those formats not the ranked play.

I am ok with people running bot farms are restricted, but a single bot on a single account, shouldn't be an issue. Perhaps limit one account per IP or something like that is reasonable, but that won't work for me because we have multiple family members on the same IP address.

Sort:  

it's not just about the ecosystem, splinterlands is primarily a game. and playing online games permanently against bots sucks enormously as a gamer. if the game is no longer worth playing, then at some point it's no longer worth investing in the game. because a game that no one wants to play anymore is effectively garbage.

and also the individual bots that are not bot farms are changing the ecosystem.one example rare cards are losing value because bots are not playing them and people are only buying/renting what the bot uses frequently.....

I don't see why playing against bots is such a bad thing? if it was the same bot and it was predictable yes.. gets boring, but I don't find the play at the moment particularly predictable.

well there is a completely different feeling. when you know that there is someone sitting on the other side of the internet watching the fight and cheering with you when it is a close fight etc.

I think we should understand that the real PVP of this game is in Clan Battles and Tournaments.
Splintelands in classic battle mode in my competition is the PVE part of this game so there is no harm to the "thrill" of the game, but not everyone has time to play these daily battles, however they manage to play the tournaments and clan battles, if you have time, that's okay, but people who like the game but don't have as much time as you do.
If you focus on the Tournament and Clan Battle mode to cover this internal emotion gap, and switch to using a bot for the PVE part, you will see that they are our allies, and do not harm the gameplay on the contrary.

Your bot will be completely useable in Wild format. This change is only going to affect Modern.

I really don't see how people can vote "No" to this based on the argument "I sometimes can't play, and I use my bot in those cases, so I'm voting no."

You can STILL use your bot with this proposal.

I only have modern cards though? so that would put me at a disadvantage in wild