New Reward Cards - Which one will I add to my deck?

in #spt4 years ago

image.png

A big part of the excitement in Splinterlands is created by the possibility to earn reward cards with a monetary value by just playing. These are limited and you can see which are already out-of-print and which are nearing the threshold on this handy site.

Part of what creates the value is that if you want to level up all of them, you will have to buy some with actual money/crypto as just playing will not give you enough. Realizing that I changed my strategy and decided to focus only on a few cards that will make a nice addition to my deck and play style. I am going to sell the others and stock up on these.

Out of the new reward cards that have just been announced, which will I pick and why?

image.png

image.png
Being able to get summoners from rewards is great and will help smaller players. I will definitely use a Kretch in my alt account @kick-starter which has no investment except for the initial starter pack and needs to earn his way up (currently at 20 USD value, so this is already a 100% ROI).
But I am not going to keep Kretch on my main account for the simple reason that I already have a maxxed Selenia Sky which offers the same splinter for the same mana but with an additional buff.

image.png

image.png

I am going to skip on these cards as they are new (and undeniably strong) tank cards. I already have mighty tanks and in most rulesets you only need one of them.

image.png

image.png

These legendaries are pretty nice but will have a niche in gameplay. The life splinter card can only be used in high mana matches and my life high mana cards are already pretty good. The earth card is only playable in Equalizer matches as it will kill itself in any other ruleset in round facing one of the many magic reflect cards.

image.png
Captain's Ghost, now this is a card I am looking forward to. 4 Magic Attack are a blast and affliction is also pretty nice. The new oppress ability on a magic creature is neat as it balances out the magic reflect of Lord Arianthus.

image.png
This my favourite card out of the new ones. Fire is my strongest splinter with Plado as a summoner and three-four Sneak/Opportunity Monsters + Beetle Queen the opponent will often be K.O.d before round three. Ant Miners having the shield ability will make a great card in this line up on the last position to counter enemies' sneak attacks. The Shield will make it survive the first blow and until the second hits it can stock up on live with Scavenge!

image.png
Adding the Sand Worm for the same reason as the Ant Miners. The Worm will be great for high mana battles with my fire splinter!

image.png
What a great Reach monster. This easily makes for a second tank in high mana matches and is a welcome addition to my collection as an alternative to Giant Roc, Grumpy Dwarf and Horny Toad which I am currently using.

image.png
Onyx doesn't unfold its full potential until max level. I expect this to be worth 14.20 USD once a couple have been printed (46 times 0.33USD). Too expensive considering I already got a maxxed Lord A. as an alternative.

image.png
Kelp Initiate looks decent. I am not yet sure about this card. I don't like that it has no attack so I will usually pick Mermaid Healer over it. But then again the high LP and the low mana make it quite useful. I may decide on this one later.

image.png
Grim Reaper might be useful in some cases but I think for six mana I would usually pick a Haunted Spiter plus a Skeleton Assassin instead. Therefore no Grim Reaper's for my deck.

image.png
Merge Centauri! My 2nd favorite after the Ant Miners. I love how it gives the Earth Splinter the Repair ability which can be real nuisance for your opponent. Also the strong magic attack is a bummer and on top of that it got Return Fire! So, being a magic creature it can attack from all positions while returning ranged fire.

image.png
I may pass on the Sheriff because of its high mana cost. As mentioned above my Life Splinter already has many good high mana cards, so I don't have a spot for him in my team.

What about you guys? Do you already have plans for the new cards?

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @ashikstd on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

Congratulations @handtalk5! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thanks for sharing! - @carrieallen

Great post! Formatting is nice and clean. And ya know what? I'm pretty excited about those Ant Miners too!