Splinterlands Untamed | Rare Lvl 4 DARK ASTRONOMER, Lvl 1 BONE GOLEM, and Lvl 4 DEATH ELEMENTAL Evaluation

in #spt4 years ago (edited)

Continuing on my journey of exploring the cards I received from the Untamed Kickstarter, we have 3 rare cards from the Death Splinter. These are the DARK ASTRONOMER, BONE GOLEM, and DEATH ELEMENTAL.

monsterline.png

CARDS 2214-2241/2500

Screen Shot 20191223 at 10.18.46 PM.png

First up we've got the DARK ASTRONOMER, a 4-mana ranged card, and one I'm not particularly excited about.


Screen Shot 20191224 at 11.21.01 AM.png

The closest competitor to this card would be the 3-mana HAUNTED SPIDER from the Beta edition. I tend to like Beta card more because of the extra damage potential of the Poison ability. This card is slower, but the other base stats are similar. At level 4 it gets the Shatter ability, which could be useful against heavily armored enemy tanks. When maxed out it also gets the Blind ability, which reduces the opponents chance to hit.


Screen Shot 20191224 at 11.23.31 AM.png

This could be a useful card to round out the deck, but it's not compelling enough for me to place any focus on it. When I combine my 27 cards together, I get level 4 and the Shatter ability, so I can at least test it out and see how useful it will be.

Verdict: Keep and further evaluate. Sell the gold foil.

monsterline.png

CARDS 2242-2259/2500

Screen Shot 20191223 at 10.19.07 PM.png

Second in line we've got the BONE GOLEM, a 7-mana tank I am even less interested in.


Screen Shot 20191224 at 11.21.43 AM.png

First off, this card is slow, and it never gets faster. On top of that, the health is pretty low for such a high-cost card. It's great that it can repair it's own armor, but in most cases I'm not sure it will survive long enough to do so. The one exception would be Reverse Speed matches. Either way, this card is crying for a tank healer, which are in short supply for the Death Splinter. One that comes to mind is the CORRUPTED PEGASUS, which is a Legendary Promo card. I'm still 3 cards away from Tank Heal on that one.

At this point this card doesn't seem useful to me, so I'll just hang on to the individual cards for now.

Verdict: Keep individual cards and re-evaluate later.

monsterline.png

CARDS 2260-2296/2500

Screen Shot 20191223 at 10.19.30 PM.png

Lastly, we have the DEATH ELEMENTAL, a magic caster with the Sniper ability.


Screen Shot 20191224 at 11.22.26 AM.png

This is actually a pretty decent card. It's a good compliment to the TWISTED JESTER sniper from the Beta Edition. It doesn't do two damage until level 6 however, but gets the Silence ability at level 4. This makes it a good counter to the attackers heavy on the magic. When maxed out it also gets the Weaken ability. I'm very interested if this will stack with the UNDEAD PRIEST's Weaken ability.


Screen Shot 20191224 at 11.24.15 AM.png

This card will likely be very useful and do very well paired with the TWISTED JESTER. My 37 cards combined gets me almost to level 5. I'm not really sure this card will be powerful enough until level 6, so I'll hold off using it until then.

Verdict: Keep and upgrade to level 6 in the medium term.

Sort:  

Nice summary. Why is the rare gold card only level 2?
Is that a change for Untamed?

Thanks.
Good point, looks like they stretched it out for Untamed.