Splinterlands - Retaliate Anyone? (Weekly Post)

in #spt3 years ago


image.png

Retaliate is one of the abilities that first used when the game was introduced. In the beginning I remember it being a good ability since it gets to attack an opponent monster without wasting its turn. However in time as the game progressed I believe there were better abilities that overshadow retaliate. For instance opportunity is one and new rule sets that introduce opportunity or sneak ability into the matches. In the end I rarely apply retaliate, but since this week's share battle focus is on this ability I tried it in a couple of battles. The following is one of those battles.

Battle Using Retaliate

image.png

I have alpha cards with retaliate so only used them in tournament battles. Specifically alpha tournament battles as I tend to be forced to face similar monsters cards I fair well using alpha monsters there.

Formations

Both my opponent and I lead off with fire splinter in the battle and had the same tanker and rear monster. The Serpentine of Flame is one of those good retaliate cards when only alpha cards were available. I continue with Gaint Roc and Cerberus followed with Phoenix, Goblin Shaman and ended with Fire Demon.

On my opponent side they lead off with Serpentine followed by Giant Orc, Gaint Roc, Kobold Miner, Fire Beetle and end with Fire Demon. At first glance the formations look neck and neck.

Round 1

image.png

At the end of round 1 the monsters on both side remained the same but my Serpentine was the better tanker as my opponent's only had one health left.

Round 2

image.png

Right off the bat in round 2 the poison in rule set damage a lot toward my opponent and me. As the round progress each of my opponent's monsters was knocked out. This was a defining round as my formation lost only Serpentine while my opponent lost all but Fire Beetle and Fire Demon. Worse off they had only range monster left which left really only one attacker on their side versus my five.

Round 3

image.png

Poison again at the start of the round did most of the damage but by end of round 3 my formation came out on top with Cerberus, Phoenix and Fire Demon still alive.

Conclusions

The match really had the rule set control the match after round 1. Due to my formation having higher health overall I was able to withstand the poison rule set a bit longer than my opponent. In addition if you watch carefully in the match you would notice that my opponent's Serpentine performed retaliate much better than mine.

image.png

In fact my retaliate did not get executed at all and my opponent's did. They actually have the better performance with the ability. Still I prefer to take the win ;)

If you are interesting in watching the battle here is a link.

Until next time thanks for reading!!!

I have plenty of other cards for rent! Just go on peakmonsters and check out the market place and if you are curious what I offer here is a link:

mawit07 rentals

If You have yet to take part in playing this great game called Splinterlands please click on my referral link. It is free but in order to earn real assets such as cards and token you would have to invest in a starter deck or purchase game cards. Join the discord to learn more. Good luck!


THANKS FOR READING! CONTINUE TO PLAY SPLINTERLANDS!


Sort:  

Nice battle !LUV and !PIZZA

Connect

Trade


@mawit07! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @logicforce.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (2/10)

Thanks !LUV and !PIZZA

Connect

Trade


@logicforce! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @mawit07.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (1/10)

Thanks for sharing! - @mango-juice

very nice post on retaliate ability friend. I also love to play with Serpentine of Flame often in ranked and brawl too. keep playing splinterlands and post awesome contents.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more