๐Ÿ“š๐Ÿ“š๐Ÿ“šSireland Survival Manual - Intro๐Ÿ“š๐Ÿ“š๐Ÿ“š

in #ssm โ€ข 7 years ago (edited)

Introduction

I started this years ago with my official blog but the cost outweighed the benefit of continuing under that platform. Steemit has given me a platform that is not only free but can potentially pay for itself. Thank you to the creators of the Steem blockchain. As of this writing, I will need to open each article in its own tab to print. Yes, this is a print manual for myself based loosely on Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs, because there are numerous scenarios where electronic information is useless. These are my own experiences, experiments, and thoughts based on years of research and trial and error.

I chose, but edited the hierarchy of needs to suit my own survival purposes because it makes sense to me, i.e. if you can't breathe you don't care about water, etc., and outlined my manual in the following sections:

  1. Water - Assuming you can breath, water is the most important thing to continue living. Where to get it and how to handle it
  2. Food - After you have secured a reliable source of water, acquiring food is next
  3. Shelter - Temporary and permanent including fuel and air
  4. Security - Personal security as well as securing your property and resources
  5. Comfort - To achieve proper rest and maintain body temp
  6. Luxury - Everything else that makes life worth living

I have a three-ringed binder and using the above outline, e.g. 2.2.4 Field Dress Deer, I print the page and add it to my manual

Image source 1,

Sort: ย 

Dear sireland, thanks for sharing. Just an information on the way, the hierachy of needs by maslow is under severe critic and often doesn't hold up. For example people on hunger strike forsake eating to reach higher goals etc... But good for you, that you found a way to categorize and prioritize your life. Just don't think, everyone has to follow the same rules :)

ย 7 years agoย (edited)ย 

Good to know. This is for use in a survival situation not a way of life

the only rules that matter when you are trying to survive is to survive, so the example of intentionally starving yourself to reach a higher goal does not really apply here, self imposed torture is not the same as surviving in an emergency situation, you can go about 3 days without water(it would be very difficult) about 2 weeks without food (depending on conditions, the colder it is the shorter that gets) about 3 weeks without sleep , and shelter and comfort are way down on the bottom for me. the reason most people fail to survive is mental, they give up, never quit and never loose hope they will have to take me out of this world kinda like a came in , kicking and screaming and covered in someone elses blood.

by the way when is the next what if game

I'm on it! Just been busy

Exactly, hence water is #1 on my list but I get your point.

Do you plan on sharing your whole binder of info? Would be great to see more! Thanks for sharing!

yeah i had a blog before, I need to dig it up

Yeah! Would be good to check out.

Aha! The survival manual to use when playing Pappa-pepper's Survival Game!
BTW, I like your What If series.
No wonder you made it into the top 3! Good job!
I like the top part of your survival pyramid, so now following you.

Awesome and thank you! I had a blog a long time ago that my friends and I used and we created a pretty thorough manual for printing but I (like a dumbass) did not back it up like I thought I did and lost it all when I retired the site

But you do have the 3-ring binder still? That can be scanned and made into a PDF file.