My Intro To Heartbreak: My Very First Valentine

in #stach6 years ago (edited)

images (27).jpeg

I had always prided myself as being emotionally strong; never too attached to anyone or anything.

Until I transferred to another high school and met the Vice principal. I immediately fell in love with him.
He fit every description I had ever fantasized about in my man. Also, very importantly: he was neither my classmate nor anywhere within my age bracket.
So I worked on my writing skills and kept showing him poems and short stories I wrote. He always encouraged me and gave the needed constructive criticism. He never flogged me. Everyone suspected us. I was happy!

On Valentine's day of 2009, I wrote a love poem which I titled "An Ode To A Wonderful Person". It was meant for him, but I was too shy to tell him that.
I took the poem to his office.

"Hello sir. I worked on this today. What do you think? "

"I'll go through it later, dear. Now, I want to ask you something"

Butterflies danced in my belly in anticipation "Go on, sir"

"You remember Miss Diane; you met her with me once. I want to propose to her today. What do you think?"

My soul burned.