DBM 012: Staying Switched On And Switched Up!

in #stach6 years ago

The title of this post is quite a reminder, isn't it? Lol. Even I have to remind myself too sometimes.

IMG_20180214_121418_298.JPG

I bet that a lot of us got on this platform when we heard the extra benefit of earning while blogging and interacting, which we did for free elsewhere, while for some others is the thought of the future of cryptocurrency and the value we envisage that the steem dollar will have overtime, hence the need to position ourselves.

However, just like any strong entity, discipline and consistent commitment are values needed to help us get the best out of anything we set our minds to accomplish.

It is very easy to get pumped with enthusiasm when you see the big wigs and growing steemians earning alot everyday on each post. Yet that can also be equally very discouraging when you don't see any improvement in your wallet over sometime. Lol. And this can further drain your creative and enthusiastic spirit. No wonder the most famous advice an oldie on steemit will give you is to not come in with the intention to earn eventhough you will do eventually if you are consistent. The advice suggests that we should open our minds to learn and engage and not just be all about the money.

I had to remind myself again on this note. At first when I joined, I was so pumped (you can see from my #Introduceyourself post) I earned something and a couple of earnings after that, and then nothing! I began to wonder if I was doing something wrong. Was it my content, length, tags, or timing of the post? I just couldn't figure out why. Then the thought that the post still has earning potentials for the next 7 days was reassuring, yet a week gone and still nothing. Lol, I tried with other posts and still the same thing. The discouraging feeling began to set in. I started to draw back and give into other areas of my life that needed attention, until steemit didn't always cross my mind as it used to before.

I recall that after my DBM 009, I began to strategize on how to reposition my content in more creative ways and an idea dropped in my mind which I began to work on (I haven't began sharing though still creating content).

But then I realized that no matter what I decided to do here on steemit or anywhere else, no matter how creative and juicy it is, as long as I let go of discipline and allow discouragement and doubts, I wouldn't achieve much.

So I had to remind myself again why I joined steemit. Yeah I thought of the beauty of earning on the side - that was a major selling point, however, I love to write and interact productively with people. And I really won't want to think of myself as a quitter. So I had to get back on track and just focus on sharing my thoughts regarding different subjects with the aim of inspiring, motivating, and educating as much people that will come across my post.

So if you're reading this and you are almost getting tired of not seeing the results you wished for, just relax! You are not alone. Like we've heard, success doesn't happen overnight and when it happens it happens JUST LIKE THAT! And I've seen and read so many of those kind of stories especially here on steemit. So let's stay the course and most importantly, let's get busy interacting, networking, and growing this beautiful community.

Till my next post, Stay switched on, stay switched up!

Sort:  

I took this last weekend off for that very reason. Sometimes you just need a break for your mind to be able to create again. :D

You can say that again! I can totally relate, trust me! Thanks for stopping by and sharing. I appreciate.