MY FAVORITE BIBLE STORY

in #stach6 years ago

For all yea bible lovers out there, today , @hokpulor would be written on a story that most inspires him and I'll be pinning down the lessons I learnt from this story and i would love to get your contributions too

So what's my favorite bible story ?

It is the story of Jonah and the big big whale.

This one is dedicated to to all you Christians , whales , minnows, dolphins and the whole steemit community. I love you guys.

My version of Jonah's story ☺

Well am not rewriting the bible but i'll be doing a brief narrative from the book of Jonah

God meets Young Jonah

Jonah was the son of Amittar (not a very popular guy) and had lived in Nineveh all his life. Now Nineveh seemed to be a cool place for chilling out(because the bible described it as a big city) but the ways were offensive in the eyes of the God they served.
God had spoken to him and instructed him to speak to the people to turn away from there sins and make repentance.

Jonah thought he wasn't up for this , took a trip to Joppa and got on a boat heading to Tarshish. He's plan was to run from God's plan

bible-2702930_1280.png
Source

The storm

On the sea en route Tarshish, the boat was hit by a voilent storm. The crew and passengers were so scared that they started to throw most of the cargo into the sea as efforts to avoid they capsize of the boat. It wasn't until Jonah on realising that it was all God intervening, requested that he been thrown over board. After much drama , he was thrown overboard and surprisingly the storm went calm.
God then sent a big fish to swallow him up and he got retained in the belly pending three days.

bible-2702929_1280.png
Source

In the belly of a Big fish : probably a Whale ?

While in the belly of the fish , Jonah talked to the Lord his God saying

I was in very bad trouble.
I called to the Lord for help, and he answered me.
I was deep in the grave.
I cried to you, and you heard my voice.

You threw me into the sea.
Your powerful waves splashed over me.
I went down, down into the deep sea.
The water was all around me.
Then I thought, ‘Now I must go where you cannot see me,’ but I continued looking to your holy Temple for help.

The seawater closed over me.
The water covered my mouth, and I could not breathe.
I went down, down into the deep sea.
Seaweed wrapped around my head.
I was at the bottom of the sea, the place where the mountains begin.
I thought I was locked in this prison forever, but the Lord my God took me out of my grave.
God, you gave me life again!

“My soul gave up all hope, but then I remembered the Lord.
I prayed to you, and you heard my prayers in your holy Temple.
I will give sacrifices to you, and I will praise and thank you.
I will make special promises to you, and I will do what I promise.

”Salvation only comes from the Lord!
Then the Lord spoke to the fish, and it vomited Jonah out of its stomach onto the dry land.

Jonah 2:2‭-‬7‭, ‬9‭-‬10 ERV
Source

Back to Nineveh
He was washed as ashore bearing the news of repentance which the people heeded to and disteered the wrath of God.


LESSONS TO LEARN

I would be brief because I want to here from you all.
Most striking lessons include;

Don't run from what you know you are made for
No matter how far up you run , events will always lead us back to where we should be

There's more to come @hokpulor
2018-05-03 09.53.50.jpg

Sort:  

Nice application of the story.