The Beauty of Code

in #stach6 years ago

There's this great feeling that comes with building something and watching it take shape and actually work! This was same feeling I got when I ran the node postpromoter.js command on my local machine and the damn thing worked!

It all started when I started learning AngularJS and got frustrated because npm install command always gave me issues. As with everything I lay my hands on, giving up and going back to it, I did this time with a more practical project @yabamatt's postpromoter blog.

I and @belemo have been talking about doing our own little contribution to the steem blockchain, as someone with a tech background, I came up with building a bid bot to make our posts and members of the @steam9ja community.

So I went digging, studying steem API, searching for open source projects, then I found the perfect project. @yabamatt's postpromoter, I cloned the project, edited the config.json file, ran the npm install command, lo and behold it worked without any issues, I ran the $ nodejs postpromoter.js command, it failed, then I realized most of this developers are using mac or linux while the poor me uses a window machine. Quickly I reverted to using node postpromoter.js and viola! Bingo! It worked.
First Succcess!First Success (Source: Screenshot of my machine's Console)

Moving on, it was time to test the bot. I asked my buddy @belemo to transfer 0.05 SBD to test if the bot actually votes.

Voting Works!
Voting Confirmation (Source: Screenshot of my machine's Console)

Voting works! Ignore the vote value that account is basically new. Next step is to test for reversal of invalid bids.

Yup it works too!And Yess!! it works too! (Source: Screenshot of my machine's Console)

So I hit my buddy @belemo up, "yo bro! we got ourselves a bot man!"

That's It! That's how we got our bot running on my Local Machine. Up next is to set it up on a live server! Well if you want to try out our locally hosted bot?, send 0.01SBD with the post link as a memo to @drexx-dmitri and it'd upvote your post when it's online and at 100% Voting Power. We are currently working on increasing the voting power of the bot. You're also welcome to delegate SP to the blog. You get a share of all revenues the bot generates.

Sort:  

You got a 50.00% upvote and resteem from @singing.beauty courtesy of @ombukuro. Thank you for using the @singing.beauty UPVOTE and RESTEEM bot.

If you are looking to earn a passive no hassle return on your Steem Power, delegate your SP to @singing.beauty by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | Custom Amount

You will earn 80% of the voting bot's earnings based on your delegated SP's prorated share of the bot's SP pool at the end of EACH voting round! That is over 38.5% APR! You can also undelegate at anytime.

Good to know

You got a 26.14% upvote from @redlambo courtesy of @ombukuro! Make sure to use tag #redlambo to be considered for the curation post!

You got a 27.85% upvote from @steembidbot courtesy of @ombukuro!

You got a 17.42% upvote from @upboater courtesy of @ombukuro!

Great post! You just got a 10.64% upvote from @edensgarden!
Thanks for tasting the eden!

@minnowfairy has sprinkled your post with a 9.31% upvote.

Follow @minnowfairy and support our initiatives to advocate passionate Steemians delivering good, quality content to the community.

This post has received a 7.29% upvote from @lovejuice thanks to @ombukuro. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

You got a 14.29% upvote from @childfund courtesy of @ombukuro! @childfund is a bid bot to help the steem community sponsor a child.

You got a 1.87% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @ombukuro! Earn 90% daily earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale.