stan lee RIP

in #stanlee6 years ago (edited)

IMG_6536.JPG

I felt steeled against the going ons of the past week. We had an election, a shooting, and several fires burning. My social media was a buzz of political disenchantment and fire updates. I looked outside at my woodsy view with anxiety. The sky was orange and the air was smokey.

I stayed indoors and planned for "just in case" and left only to attend a dance class where all proceedings went to Red Cross. Several folks on the road drove with their convertible tops down not concerned about the air quality. The temps were in the 70s, an otherwise gorgeous day if you weren't bothered by the smell of burnt trees in the air. I guess some folks get used to fire season.

The news of Stan Lee's passing at the beginning of this week pushed me off the edge. After a rough anxious weekend, the news hit at my heart. I cried on my way to teach after R broke the news to me. We had attended Stan Lee's panel not long ago and were able to hear him talk at comic con. Stan Lee was an endearing soul with a firecracker sense of humor. He loved people and his affection showed his genuine thrill and appreciation of his fans...and friends. I've had friends that have worked with him. Their tributes on my social media made me cry. For a man of legendary work, Stan Lee was approachable and very human. And for a man who was luminous, he enjoyed the shine of others.

He was a writer that created a universe that a lot of people loved. He created heroes. Heroes that are shared through generations in families, among friends through childhoods, across cultural lines. Not too many artists unite as many people. Stan Lee created a universe that made our world better.

In case you don't know of him, here is a documentary, "With Great Power" that I've enjoyed many times. Maybe you didn't know of the man behind the heroes you love.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=eS6R131MbL0

He's the reason why comic books came to life and endured. Stan Lee gave us many heroes punctuated by their humanity. Anyone good can also be great.

Excelsior!

JNET

Sort:  

Great tribute, makes me sad every time I think about it. But it shouldn't be that way I'm trying to be happy and remember everything great he gave us. Thank you for the tribute.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by JNET from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.