You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Geeky Dad's Movie Guide to Star Wars: The Last Jedi (2017) (No Spoilers)

in #star-wars6 years ago

@hanshotfirst - **Wow - it has been a while since we visited each others posts. I guess timings do not match due to my revised work schedule. Anyway -
Thank you for this great analysis (without spoilers). It is so sad that the Star-wars franchize that we all grew up on is now catering for the new young fans. I feel so cheated and abandoned!
Upvoted.
Regards,

@vm2904

Sort:  

Good to see you here! I am a little sad, but that is tempered by the fact that I realize I'm an old man. It's time for kids to get what I was lucky to have: a childhood filled with Star Wars. I will still enjoy the new movies and TV shows, just in a slightly different way than before.

I am not old. I am 25 years old. Please, don't just pass this new trilogy to us! We wanted a new Star Wars trilogy, not whatever this was...

Sadly Lucas already tried to make your movies. They were the prequels and they sucked. I feel really bad for people in between my age and my son's age. If you were too young to see the original trilogy as a kid and now too old to see this one as a kid, it sucks. So 25 is actually too old for these. The human brain does not fully develop until around age 25. This movie is for people with young minds and those who can pretend to have one for a few hours. I truly believe people need to turn off they "adult brain" to enjoy these. I am not saying you have to be "dumb" to like these. You just need to be willing to let go of logic for a little while.

Yes. It is hard to accept that we are now getting old but that is a fact. The cycle of life has to go on and the kids must get priority.
Thank you. I really like the perspective you put on these things. Frankly, anyone can do a movie review but the way you do it is very different and valuable.

oh wow! Now I MUST go see it! Been busy lately with my dad's health issues and writing my posts but I must find time. :)

I felt that way after TFA, to be honest. I found myself watching myself watching the movie.... so much anticipation, so many worries. The second time though? I feel absolutely in love with it.

And with The Last Jedi I liked it a lot the first time through and found very little to quibble with. Star Wars was always for our inner 9 year olds, even The Phantom Menace works when you allow yourself to be a kid again.

But, that is what Star Wars is. And I expect I will love The Last Jedi when I see it a second time. This is a very deep film that has a lot to say about legends and the expectations of the younger generation of the older one.

Oh, and that little bit about war being a racket. Kinda important that.