The stars in Orion

in #starslast year

The brightest stars in Orion

  1. Betelgeuse, α Orion, a massive red supergiant of class M, living out its age. This variable star is the second brightest star in the constellation and the eighth brightest star in the night sky. It represents the right shoulder of Orion.

    Photography Hubble Telescope

  2. Rigel, β Orion, is a B-type blue supergiant that is the sixth brightest star in the night sky. It is the brightest star in the constellation Orion. It denotes the left foot of the mythical hunter.

  3. Bellatrix, γ Orion, is known by the informal name “Star Amazons." It is the 27th brightest star in the night sky. Bellatrix is ​​considered a class B blue giant. It represents the left shoulder of Orion.

  1. Mintaka, β Orion, is the dimmest of the three stars in the Orion's Belt asterism. It is a multiple star system of four or five stars, the brightest of which are a large B-type blue giant and a slightly more massive O-type white star.
  1. Alnilam, ε Orion. The name of the star comes from an Arabic phrase meaning "necklace of 3 pearls". It is a class B blue supergiant. Although A is farther away from the Sun than Mintaka and Alnitak, the other two stars in Orion's Belt, it has a high luminosity so they appear almost equally bright in the sky.
  1. Alnitak what means "cake", ζ Orion. It is the easternmost star in Orion's Belt. It is a triple star located at a distance of about 800 light years from ☀️ years. Alnitak's main dawn is a blue supergiant and the brightest class O star in the night sky.

Alnitak (in lower right) and the Flame Nebula

  1. Saif, κ (kappa) Orion. It denotes the right foot of the hunter. Saif is located at almost the same distance as Rigel, and has a mass similar to it, but much dimmer.

    ENCYCLOPEDIA OF SPACE. Рegasus
    nineplanets.org
    Wikipedia
    geocities.ws
    debbiesolaris.com
    Osr.org
Sort:  

Thank you for this very good contribution, I like astronomy, I am captivated by the immensity of space, all that is found in the infinite, the different stars, the clusters of stars, all so mysterious and exciting at the same time. Best regards from Venezuela. See you soon!

Thanks ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

Nice ! I know Betelgeuse from "Planet of the Apes" and encountered Mintaka and Alnitak in the old "Spaceward Ho!" computer game I still play from time to time.

image.png

I was looking at Orion through binoculars a couple of months ago. For some reason I had never paid attention to the sword before. I noticed how some of the stars were blurry. I wondered if I was looking at a nebula, and when I looked it up, I was so excited to see that it was the Orion Nebula!
In my mind, I discovered the Orion Nebula with my binoculars:)

Finally I found wich is this constelations, I always see a butterfly in the middle of it LOL.