What Is Star Wars And Why Should I Care?

in #starwars7 years ago

stars

As far as I know, it's just a 40 year old piece of something I know nothing about. Except for Master Yoda and the fact that it's a sci-fi movie.

Now let me go do some research.

Apparently, Luke is the hero of the movie. Luke Skywalker? But why is Yoda more popular? It's almost like I see him on every Star Wars poster or wallpaper there is.

And the first movie was released in 1977? Haha! That says a lot or does it really? Where was I May 25, 1977? Lol. Apparently I wasn't on earth and that explains why George Lucas wasn't satisfied with the work he put out that day despite it amassing a huge religious following and the massive box office success.

I had no idea Star Wars was made for 11 year olds. It's actually a children's movie with grown up fans? Except these grown ups were fans already as kids, I wouldn't understand how a movie for kids would have such a loyal following of grown ups.

Originally a trilogy, now with so many spinoff stories? Grrrrr....

Further reading revealed to me that I've been in contact with a Star Wars character all along and I had no clue! I'm looking at you @hanshotfirst 😏

Funny enough I've also heard the name Obi-wan being thrown around. Hmm...

And then Chewbacca, on a J. Cole song I think.

Star Wars has been everywhere around me. Everywhere but inside me. - Fi

It's been interesting to see that Star Wars means a lot of different things to the fans.

To some, it's about friendship; both from the story and the bond they had because of the story.

To others, it's about their childhood. Memories of the feelings they had seeing the original. The ideas it gave them. The dreams they had.

I'm curious to know why you love Star Wars?

Sort:  

hey it's the only good space sci-fi adventure I watched and one of the first films I watched in a theater, plus the original trilogy is thrilling, exciting and very smart :)

I could talk all day for Star Wars :) but I'm only doing shameless promotion for my post
some "trade advice" from me :)
@j3dy

Can Somebody Teach Me How To Trade?

Nice to see you hitting so strong and keeping up the "fight" best of luck with your community building and thank you for bringing so many great people and helping them grow and learn :)

haha! I'm probably so late to the party but will check it out regardless.

On Star Wars, I'd just wait till when I get to see it. If i ever get to see it.

Thanks for the nice comments. It's not been an easy task at all but as you said, it's a fight and I'll try to keep it up.

on star wars, REALLY? oh man, classics are classic, the old school trilogy is what made Han Solo, I mean Harrison Ford's career, that and Indiana Jones, if you haven't watched it I won't spoil anything for you, I'm just going to say watch Spaceballs afterwards :) maybe a year after that :D for me personally SW was quite inspiring, there are great games by Bioware and the whole lore aspect blew outside any proportion, from one trilogy there was another one, series, mini series, fan flicks, games, comics, books, .... even disney bought it :D

I will check how you are doing and what was going on with you for the past months since I was very busy and I've missed most of steemit, I was mostly voting and moping (being sad) :D

Haha! You sound so excited talking about it! Very nice!

Hey, welcome back. I'm sure you're all fine now. Missed seeing you around.

Well I went too far with steem I suppose, life doesn't like being left out :D and bills are assholes :D but yeah there are waves everywhere.

Nice to see you expanding your community and bringing people on board.
"Think global, Act local" was a trendy quote

It wasn't until Return of the Jedi was released that I got to go to the cinema to watch a Star Wars movie. I saw it 5 times.

The prequels just don't have the same soul as the originals

I've noticed fans always have a ridiculously high number of times they've seen the movie. 5 times? The same movie? Wow!

While the plot of Star Wars was nothing new, the choreography was great for that time. I remember when I first saw the advertisement for the movie. I had to go see it. My father and I used to regularly got to watch the latest and greatest sci-fi flicks together, but as I grew into a teenager that slowly stopped . Star Wars came out and wanted him to see it with me but he had no interest, saying it looked childish. So I went with my buddy. We enjoyed that show very much. After that Star Wars became too commercialized and I could not enjoy them.

Oh. So it wasn't the first sci-fi movie? I thought it was. Why then did people flock to see it even before seeing it? The power of a great trailer?

A great trailer was a lot of it. The idea of weird aliens living together in a communal society was a new concept. Star Trek pioneered the idea but Star Wars took it to the next level and put it in a full length movie.

I think star wars is silly. I was on the Island of Crete when it came out. The little kids on the base I was stationed on loved it.
It's NOT science fiction....more of an anti-human, ant-technolgy preachy thing dressed up in muppet costumes..

Nice graphics though...

Wow! Thanks for this. It was a long watch but totally worth it.

LOL. Great post. If the movies were first released today, I would still love them. But it takes that added boost of being so strongly connected to my childhood (and now my own children's childhood) to kick it up to an all out obsession.

From a story standpoint, Star Wars is just one in the long list of stories telling of The Hero's Journey. The Greeks had "The Odyssey"... I have Star Wars.

https://steemit.com/life/@hanshotfirst/happy-40th-anniversary-to-star-wars-the-most-important-movie-of-my-life

https://steemit.com/life/@hanshotfirst/what-is-in-a-name-for-me-there-is-quite-a-bit

Lol. Yeah I remember reading the "what's in a name..." post and also saw the 40th anniversary one. It was what gave me the idea for the post but I still didn't get the connection till I read an article that said "Han (no longer) shot first" and I was like... "Oh shit!" 😂

I'd probably just find time to see it cos of the story.

Congratulations @fisteganos! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

LOL.

Have fun with The Force then.

May the force be with you too friend hehehehehe

Question 1: Star Wars is rebel scum propaganda depicting how they attempted to overthrown the lawful government of the galaxy.

Question 2: I am in it

and I'm awesome.

Haha! The great Vader!

Follow me lord, and help me be great. Teach me your ways as I've already indicated my willingness to learn by tapping one button that says "follow".

Hope that was the right one? I think it was. And yes, you're awesome!!!