You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Real BB-8 and You can have one too! Part 1 of my adventure in building full scale droid from Star Wars.

in #starwars6 years ago

This subject always fascinates me. I am a keen follower of Adam Savage's TESTED. Its there that I am linked up with other makers of replicas from Star Wars and other movies spurning all sorts of projects like yours. It at those times that I get completely discouraged as I am stuck in a country where my creativity is stunted. I could never dream of owning a 3D printer over here. Our economy will only allow the super rich to go that route!
I am old now but my mind is very young and I regard myself as a "geriatric geek"!

So I have followed you to look at what you do. I LOVE your work!

Sort:  

Thanks for following. I also listen and watch all from TESTED. I love what they do there, how they promote makers and different crafts. They featured my work twice what I count as my biggest success so far. I hope one day Adam Savage will visit our Dublinmaker event so I can thank him. Their videos help me go through tough times, when I am getting burned out. Seeing his passion makes me want to go back to work :)
Check the prices of printers on gearbest.com. They are no longer that expensive. There is still cost of plastic, but it really get easier now. I had to build my first machine from parts shipped from different sellers on ebay when I started few years ago.

I am sure Adam Savage will visit. He is the "nicest down to earth" guy apparently. You were featured on TESTED? Wow! I am inspired by what you are doing! One day, before I leave this life I want to sculpt an impressive gaming character....maybe Adam will put me on TESTED LOL!!! Keep up the good work @mitchhunter!