Disney and "Jedi Fallen Order"

in #starwars3 years ago

dec-28-2020-portrait-jedi-260nw-1886933707.jpg

I love it, but...

Everything that comes out of the Star Wars universe since Disney took over is a but strange. Don't get me wrong, The Mandalorian is definitely one of the best TV shows I've seen in a while, and this "Fallen Order" game also seems high-quality stuff.

However, I have the feeling that not only Disney is over-capitalizing and cannibalizing everything they've done until now, but they're also starting to blatantly steal from other sci-fi works. I'll get to that later.

The new movies clearly lean on BB-8,a funnier and cutiest R2-D2. Not to mention that they managed to fit every old character, with no exception, and regardless of continuity and plot. In other words, even if the plot suffers, they don't care. "Do whatever you want, just put Chewbacca on the screen no matter what".

As for Mandalorian, obviously there's the biggest asset ever: baby Yoda. The plot was MUCH better but you still feel they "had" to put a bunch of old-time assets to keep masses happy and sell merchandise.

You mention stealing?

As for Fallen Order, I barely even passed the tutorial but I already saw the guy playing some kind of futuristic guitar... Nice, right? Except that's a successful idea coming from Foundation, or Dune. Not saying Disney should be forbidden to have the same idea! Just that it seems weird that such a significant thing didn't arrive earlier in the series. Is this "stealing" and profiting from a much better position in the market?

WTF Disney!?

Unfortunately I feel like Disney, being capable of producing amazing content, doesn't care much about bringing a lot of ideas onboard. They did produce the Mandalorians and some other characters, but in my honest opinion that's just not enough.

Will this mean Star Wars is doomed? I don't know. But I feel like it's lost its way, specially if we're talking about SW movies.

What do you think of the recent Star Wars universe developments?