You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Public Witness Statement @therealwolf

in #statement5 years ago

No witness could ever run a code like that. It threatens the integrity of STEEM as a unit of value.

People can be angry all they want, but this would be the equivalent of suicide for the chain.

If you can do it to one groups holdings, it can be done to anyone. It's unreasonable from a multitude of standpoints.

Sort:  

No witness could ever run a code like that. It threatens the integrity of STEEM as a unit of value.

They could, but I agree with threatening the integrity. I personally wouldn't feel safe owning STEEM, knowing that if enough people agree that I don't deserve them, it would be gone.

If you can do it to one groups holdings, it can be done to anyone. It's unreasonable from a multitude of standpoints.

Yes and that's dangerous. I mean, there were a few cases where this happened, but AFAIK it only happened due to accounts being compromised. Was long before my time on Steem though.

I personally wouldn't feel safe owning STEEM, knowing that if enough people agree that I don't deserve them, it would be gone.

Nobody would. It's one thing to joke around about this sort of thing. It's a whole different thing to code and propose it seriously.

The block chain should not be edited, awarded coins should not be removed by force. It's just contrary to everything that I feel the crypto community stands for.

The block chain should not be edited, awarded coins should not be removed by force. It's just contrary to everything that I feel the crypto community stands for.

With HF9, there was a case where the code (from the HF21 PR) was originally used, but only for recovering funds of hacked accounts AFAIK.