Statewars - California - Symbols

in #statewars6 years ago (edited)

900px-Flag_of_California.svg.png

California

Just in case you didn't know, California is obviously the best state of all the states your imagination can come up with. If you don't think so, let's meet at dawn for a duel!!! And maybe dawn is a bit early for me and pistols are not to my taste. Okay, let's battle it out in words then, will you.

I have read some posts about how Texas is such a great state!! And I keep listening to podcasts where people are saying the same thing.

But let me tell you!! You all are so proud that you have rattlesnakes - and I have to admit that I met my very first life rattlesnake in Texas, but we have some fine species here in California as well!! You have nothing on us!!

But that is not what I am talking about. Let me show you why I love Califonia.

IMG_7868.jpg

See this picture? See this sky? Blue!!! Most of the time a beautiful blue!! And wouldn't you know it, blue happens to be one of the symbols of Califonia!! There!! You grey skied Washingtonians and all you people living in snow country with all white around you, aren't you jealous yet of my beautiful blue sky? and blue ocean. Hah!!

hills.jpg

Just to show off, a little bit more blue - together with our golden hills!! You might see dried up brown. But that is because you just don't have the California eye for beauty. Gold, I tell you!! The hills are golden!!

As it so happens, gold is another symbol of this most superior state. They probably were thinking of the gold which brought the adventurer and gold diggers (literally) out west, but I don't have any of that gold, so it is the golden hills for me!

In those golden hills, there was a time when the mighty grizzlies roamed to their heart's content. The gold diggers were probably to blame for getting rid of them because they didn't like to get eaten as an afternoon snack by one of those big bears. Now, we just have them as our state symbol. It is much safer that way. We might have some in the various zoos around the country. But, let's face it. Would you want to meet one of those giants in person? Would you?

One of the more delicious symbols of California is the Avocado. So yummy!! And another symbol is that we like to make it easy on ourselves.

avocado.jpg

The green container in the middle is delicious and nutritious guacamole - so good!
Hmm, on second thought, I am not sure the last symbol I mentioned is really one.

But the California Poppy is a state flower. Too bad that I don't have a picture of that to show you. I do, however, have a picture of this beautiful flower I took just a week ago. So, I am declaring awesome flowers another symbol of California!! And I am all - or at least very - mighty and can do that!!

flower.jpg

If you are actually interested what the real State symbols are, here we go

Now, if you are wondering what is up? Why is she bragging so much about California? Let me tell you.

Once upon a time, five wonderful people decided to form a group to support others who are trying to stay afloat in this big, big Steemit ocean. They talked, they scratched their heads, and finally - don't know which one it was - had an idea!! Let's band together and support each other as much as we can, they said.
Brilliant!! I said. And joined those folks as quickly as I could!

If you live in the US, or are from the US - come and join SteemUsa.

Then go ahead and blame @gniksivart for starting a war!!!

Read all about it here!!!
Btw. You too can join and brag about your State! Or any State. Or make up a State!!

Imgur

Join us for the daily 5 - Minute Freewrite. Check my profile for a new prompt every day.

Imgur

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Imgur

My recent posts

100 Days Freewriting!

Hiking Cowles Mountain

Senior Buffet

To a True Friend

Weekend Freewrite 1/14/2018

Mystery Delegation

Pen - A freewrite

How to make Ginger Tea

Home Remedies for a Cold

Freewriter Challenge

Laughter Yoga for Seniors

Battling Cancer with the Gerson Therapy

If you find a post after the seven days, please consider upvoting a more recent post.

Imgur

Imgur

Imgur

Imgur

Want to earn sweat coin by walking outside? Join here

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here

Sort:  

Here in Texas we have many California immigrants.
Our skies are blue nearly every day.
Avacados and guac...are you kidding me?
And the best tacos and BBQ in the world.
Game over.

All my exes live in Texas.

Boom.

Texas loses.

Thank you for giving the death punch !! 🤪 . California for the win!! 😎

All I can say to that is I haven't tried living in Cali and I'm not friends with your exes.

Very creative , ever hear of George Strait? Your exes may live here, they probably needed a breath of fresh air when the left you and that sorry state of confusion , I mean California.

I think you just insulted California but I can’t really be sure. Things are too perfect here to bother.

hahaha - you have no grizzlies!!!
Wait, we don't either :(
But @metzli destroyed you!!!

We have scorpions. To my utter surprise and horror.

We do too. Only in some areas, houses..... haven't seen one in my house yet - it would freak me out!

If you can't even spell the name of your state correctly stay away from discussing the education systems , you may want to proof read this post.

Thank you so much!! When I get tired, my brain and my typing fingers are not in agreement at all!! Or might just be the brain not working - wait - that is your premises for the state of mind of all Californians - I think 🤪

@mariannewest I am honored that after all my comments, replies, and persistent bothering/begging that you've given up some time to make a post! I am indeed envious of the always blue skies of California, the beautiful mountains/hills, and the neighboring ocean.

Texas has most (Gulf is pretty much an ocean right?), but not right on top of each other like California. San Antonio is probably the closest thing we have to California subtly tells you to go check out his latest post on San Antonio, but I don't where you could find any information out about that city?

In all seriousness thanks for participating and trying to persuade me to give up Texas, but it ain't happening ;)

Thank you for putting this challenge together!! Believe me, I want to do them all. But I need to learn to type faster and not make so many mistakes I have to go back and fix :)

I have never been to San Antonio but heard a lot about it.
And you with all your prodding!! Stop poking me - I am already running to check out your post lol

Well I have to say you guys probably have the most recognizable state flag out of ANY US state. Probably right behind Maryland.

But we killed the bears :(

Well, we do still have brown bears and I think some grizzlies are making a comeback up North.

lovely photography, good food, nice post..so thanks for sharing with us..i am waiting your next post....amazing post

thank you - the food is good :)

I love it that you love much your home- California. I wish really that someday I can get out of my home and experience mornings from other countries. But, i will still love to go home. Who dont?

I do like California. But this post is a little bit a joke. Many of us are writing posts why our state is the best - it is a game :)

I will post something similar. Ill bring that game in the philippines.

California I’ll admit is one of the few states I would really not want to live in. I’ve turned down job and business opportunities to stay away!

It looks amazing from the outside then you add in all the state regulations, taxes, and oh my cost of living and I’m out! It’s ok though we can send anyone who does not enjoy eating meat to your state.

hahaha - yes!! Lots of militant Vegans here - but plenty of meat eaters as well. I don't mind the state tax as much as I mind the federal taxes.
I do give you the high cost of living - and I attribute it to all who are fleeing the cold to come here - and then complain that we don't have 4 seasons lol

I might be tempted by the avocados... :) And all of the vegan restaurant options! I promise I'm not one of the militant ones, though. Haha

Great post I love blue skies and have seen many of them in my time in California

Cheers