StateWars Day 2 - My Favorite City "SAINT LOUIS" - Original Contest

in #statewars6 years ago (edited)

Be it ever so humble, there's no place like home...Home to me is Saint Louis, Missouri, also known as the "Gateway to the Midwest."

20161106_014739_1478419978002.png

Quick facts about Saint Louis:

  • Location of the famous Gateway Arch.
  • Home of The St. Louis Cardinals baseball and The St. Louis Blues hockey teams.
  • Brewing company Anheuser Busch has called St. Louis home since 1852. Its signature Clydesdales are housed at Grants Farm, a local tourist attraction
  • The restaurant chain the rest of the country knows as Panera started as the St. Louis Bread Company in 1993 (the company retains its original name in the St. Louis area)
  • St. Louis University (my alma mater) was the first university West of the Mississippi. Its mascot is the “Billiken,” a creature invented by an art teacher that represents “things as they ought to be.”
  • Saint Louis hosts the second largest Mardi Gras in the USA annually (New Orleans holds first place)
  • Alums of Sumner High School in St. Louis ( the first high school for African Americans built West of the Mississippi) include Tina Turner, Chuck Berry, and Arthur Ashe
  • Birthplace of these tasty foods:
    the ice cream cone, gooey butter cake, toasted ravioli, Old Vienna Red Hot Riplets® hot barbecue flavored potato chips made with real St. Louis Hot Sauce, Imo's pizza, provel cheese (blend of provolone, Swiss, and white cheddar cheeses), St. Louis style barbecue, Ted Drewes frozen custard, ice tea, 7Up

This is my entry for Day 2 of the StateWars contest hosted by @steemusa
Today's theme is "My Favorite City"
Details here 👉Day 2 StateWars

Images taken with Samsung Galaxy S5 and collages created by me
© 2018 Nina Haskin. All rights reserved

!steemitworldmap 38.627003 lat -90.199402 long Saint Louis, MO d3scr

ninahaskin_red.png

aviary-image-1464595668965-1.jpeg

bandwprofilepic.jpg

"You can take the girl out of the city but you can never take the city out of the girl."

ninahaskin_blue.png

Sort:  

I go to school at Illinois State, so my friends and I drove down for a Cards game once! It was a really good time.

Howdy, neighbor! 👋 @snrm Illinois State Redbirds- your mascot is Reggie Redbird! You must have fit right in at the Cardinals ballgame. The games are always a great time. Thanks for commenting✌⚾️💯

Yeah I think we wore shirts with Reggie Redbird on them just so we somewhat fit into the game crowd lol!

For to school?

So I think I am now convinced that St Louis maybe my favorite city outside of any Texas city. I already knew they were home to the best baseball team on EARTH, THE St. Louis Cardinals, but to find out they have Clydesdales you can go see in the city as well. The Anheuser Busch Clydesdales at that!

I'm really not being sarcastic I really do like Clydesdales. Didn't know Mardi Gras was so big. Going to college in Louisiana, besides all the people drunk to the point of stupidity, Mardi Gras was a lot of fun.

Ironically, my daughter relocated to Texas after living here her entire life (well, she did graduate from college about 1.5 hours away in nearby Quincy, IL) so I have a bond with your state. You have the Astros and Rangers so I'm sure you're being sarcastic about being a St. Louis Cardinals fan but our famous Clydesdales are a crowd pleaser, especially at the home opener! Thank you for commenting and reblogging! @gniksivart💯

My dad is from Iowa, the only reason we went to Astros games is to watch the Cardinals. Loved watching Mark McGwire chase the home run record and Pujols just absolutely smash the Cardinals.

I was reading the points in the post, and my eyes went wide open when I came to this:

Birthplace of these tasty foods:
the ice cream cone, gooey butter cake, toasted ravioli, Old Vienna Red Hot Riplets® hot barbecue flavored potato chips made with real St. Louis Hot Sauce, Imo's pizza, provel cheese (blend of provolone, Swiss, and white cheddar cheeses), St. Louis style barbecue, Ted Drewes frozen custard, ice tea, 7Up

Now it's my favorite city too!

Lol! @maxabit I take it you're a foodie?! You'd definitely enjoy St. Louis!

I'm a diehard foodie! Thanks!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #cityscapephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Wednesday.

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Server time: 06:32:55
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1053.94/1600.00
Total Photos: 104
Total comments: 255
Total contest wins: 5
And have also received a 2.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Your post becomes an inspiration for me and everyone

Thank you for the positive comment! That was very kind of you💯

resteemed :)

Appreciate the resteem! Thank you!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=ninahaskin
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=statewars-day-2-my-favorite-city-saint-louis-original-contest-03b7bad9d6458


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Wow, this is so awesome

Thank you!

Oke, you're welcome. Keep spirit

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 29 January 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Thank you @pixresteemer for reblogging!

I didnt use to know much about St Louis but thanks for all the info on it now I know a bit more

You're very welcome, Jay! St. Louis has a whole lot more going on than just riots everyone saw in the media the past couple years! Have a great day!😀

Isn’t it a sad state of affairs that bad news is so much more visible than good news

Yes, it certainly is. What's the infamous saying about media? "If it bleeds it leads".

Yes that’s very true

I visited St. Louise, MO twice, long long time ago, and remembered seeing the arch! I was there for the conventions and didn't get to explore the city at all!

Fantastic city shots and very colorful, Nina!

Well if you ever find yourself back down this way, Icy, let me know and we'll have some fun. Conventions are sort of boring but its great to get to travel to new places! @icybc

Will do, my dear friend!

I learned a lot about St. Louis I didn’t know. I did hear recently that they were talking about changing the name of the arch.

Thanks and you are correct about the renaming! @coldsteem Yes, the archgrounds were totally redone and turned into a stunning park.You can read more here: news.stlpublicradio.org

Wow! I did not know all those things about Saint Louis! Looks like a great place to visit someday! Thanks for the great photos that give us a peek at Saint Louis!!

We do have a ton of positive things going on here in St. Louis. I forgot to mention our incredible & free St. Louis Zoo, Missouri Botanical Gardens and renowned Forrest Park. Thank you @deerjay

You're very welcome and I know what you mean. Gotta narrow it down some otherwise we could go on and on. That is great that it is free!! Your posts makes me want to visit for sure!!

Nice Nina! Definitely I would love to visit on day!

Thank you! I know you'd have a memorable time!

Looks like a great city, nice pics :)

Thank you for your comment and I'm glad you liked my collages!

Heya, I just wanted to swing by real fast! I am the founder of Steemitworldmap, I had to remove some of your posts from the map as they were showing up in entirely the wrong locations (e.g.: statue of liberty in China etc.) This one is fine though!

I am aware that you did not purposely pinned them in the wrong location, it is a mistake that can happen to anyone. To prevent it from happening in the future though, I would highly suggest for you to use the new way of pinning posts on the map. It is a lot easier, and it makes it less likely to make a mistake!

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Cheers!

Sorry! Which post was incorrect so I can fix the error? Most likely it was a missing negative sign on the longitude as some Google search results don't have it on there @martibis I wasn't able to get the Steemitworldmap slider to work from my android smartphone

Update: I located and corrected the error on my recent Smoky Mountain post and it indeed was a missing negative sign!

Heya, most of them were over 7 days old so unfortunately couldn't be fixed anymore!

Oh, can you tell me what browser you're using on your android device? I'll see what is going on there!

Sure thing! @martibis. Thanks for looking into this.
I swiped some screenshots:

20180131_120610.jpg

20180131_120354.jpg

Perfect, I will take a look into it asap! I think I already know what is going on, but will need some time to fix it properly!

Thanks for the update @martibis I'll make sure I add a negative sign to any of my coordinates where it's missing !