Is worth considering to invest in the E-Sports scene?

in #stats8 years ago

A lot of young businessmen started to invest in the E-Sports scene.
Now I will try to explain why this is happening.
Since the 80's people started to compete in tournaments of arcade games such as...
GitHub Logo

Space Invaders

GitHub Logo

But I wasn't born yet that period so I will skip the entire history of electronic games and go to the late 90's when the first 56k modem was getting common among most of the people.

It is the 1997 and Red Annihilation tournament for the first person shooter (FPS) Quake is considered to have been the first real instance of eSports, drawing over 2,000 participants. The winner received a Ferrari previously owned by John Carmack, lead developer for Quake.

GitHub Logo

The year 2000 saw the launch of the World Cyber Games and the Electronic Sports World Cup and the scene started exploding.
News on TV, on the forums, on the blogs. (yeah I know but back then we didn't have facebook or steemit).
Everything started to go in the right way for this market.
Today in 2016 most of the young businessman are investing in E-Sports companies.
And here is why:

GitHub Logo

Just some numbers.

GitHub Logo

I will not be surprised if I will find myself one day investing in this market.
Today the most played game in the E-Sports scene is League of Legends.

GitHub Logo

The winners of the 2015 League of Legends world cup won the Prize Pool of $1,000,000 (USD) the SKT T1 telecom.

GitHub Logo

GitHub Logo

So what do you think?
Is the E-Sports scene really going to explode worldwide or it is going to be a passing trend like most of the trends in this world?

Sort:  

I think the E-sports scene currently IS exploding worldwide. And not just on PC, but on MOBILE.

Last weekend, there was a Clash Royale tournament held in China of 100,000 people. The grand prize was the equivalent of $55,000 US. Clash Royale is only 7 months old (Made by Supercell - Creators of Clash of Clans in case you didn't know).

As more and more games come to exist, E-Sports will continue to rise and rise in popularity. This is not only because of the revenue from Tournament Prizes, but there are many top CS:GO and LoL players that have 1 million or more YouTube subscribers and a large fan base on Twitch.

People will be attracted to the financial aspects, and the 'Rockstar' aspects of this emerging field.

I'm glad to be aware of this huge shift in COMPETITION!!!

Excellent article!! WHOOHOO!

-bigedude

Hey bigedude!
I just wanted to inform most of the people who still don't know what is happening :)
So are you a pro gamer or, just like me, you like the e-sports scene in general?
Mattia

Oh definitely not a pro - But I make Mobile Gaming videos on my channel on YouTube. I was actually featured in a Clash Royale ad once because of my reaction when I got a Giant Skeleton. Hehehe!!

I enjoy the e-sports scene for sure - I'll never forget watching the LoL World Championships in South Korea on YT - It was basically like watching the Super Bowl!!

Niceeee!
If you will do a post about your YouTube channel I'll definitely read it!!
Cheers mate ;)

gamers unite