My First Viral Video on YouTube! The Clinton Body Count Documentary!

in #stats8 years ago (edited)

The Clinton Body Count Documentary just broke 40,000 Views, So Let's Analyze some Data!

If you haven't seen it yet, give it a watch.

The Trial and Travails of Being a New YouTube Channel

I have been plugging along making documentaries for a few months now. Generally gaining a few subs a day, sort of slowly emerging into the "truther" YouTube scene. I made one video that propelled my channel to over 500 subscribers and that video jumped in a few days to 30k hits and stuck there, now at 37k views over a few months on the Central Bankers destruction of Venezuela, and I thought that was a lot of views. However one of my recent videos just spiked and now has jumped in like a week from a few thousand views to well over 40,000 now and gaining about 2-4 thousand views a day on average. The analytic package on YouTube is a few days behind, so the view count on there is 37k. But screw it, let's look at some data and see what we can infer about how people find information on YouTube.

The Main Source of New Views on a Channel come from YouTube Suggested Videos

As you can see from above, the purple colored views on the chart are from "YouTube Suggested Videos", so if you want your video to go viral without a large audience, you will need YouTube's help. I don't quite understand how they pick and choose certain videos to become "recommended" to others, but they do and that is the best way to increase your view count from my perspective. So basically you are at the whim of some arbitrary YouTube algorithm that makes no sense from my perspective. I mean isn't Google helping Hillary, so why would they want that video to go viral?

The red color is the YouTube search bar results, so some of my traffic has resulting from people using the search bar on YouTube and finding my video in the results. Almost all of the spikes in data are from the Venezuela video (the first smaller spike), and now the Clinton Body Count Documentary which is spiking like crazy. The other colors are all the other sources of traffic and are so little they aren't worth mentioning. My twitter account with over 1,100 real followers (not spam bots) barely increases the view count of any video, same for Facebook, or Steemit for that matter. In fact my worst performing posts on Steemit are the ones where I post my YouTube videos.

What Your Views Look like When a Video Goes Viral

As you can see, one might take a snapshot of the end of this chart and say it looks like all those global warming charts, in fact at the current rate I will be over a million views in no time lulz. Of course the spike will not continue at this rate and my view count will likely level out again. However it is cool to see such massive spikes in traffic. So let's see if they are just clicking off the info or if the new viewers are being retained and actually watching. Keep in mind the average person's attention span is now roughly at about 8 seconds.

Surprisingly with more viewers the average view duration and percentage watched have both increased. Most other YouTuber's from what I have seen experience a dip in both view duration and percentage watched when their videos go viral. I somehow seemed to have produced content interesting enough that it is retaining people almost 10 minutes on average per view. That is pretty damn good considering the average attention span these days. I would say I am up there with some of the better documentary producers in terms of those types of retention numbers.

The Demographics of the "Truther" Community

As you can see from my demographics chart, the average YouTube truther viewing my channel, and likely many others, is Male between the ages of 25-34, oddly I fit into that bracket as well. The truther community is mainly male, in all age brackets, and I believe that could be find across the board on YouTube. Also the truther audience is generally older, the youngest generation seems to be basically the most oblivious to this types of information as they are better than the elderly generations with technology but do not use it to see this type of information. Why is this the case? I am not sure but please leave your "conspiracy theories" lulz in the comment section. I would be interested to hear why you think it is this way?

Thanks for Checking out my post! Don't forget to follow me at @TitusFrost! Or hit me up On Twitter @ImperatorTruth, or check out my YouTube Films on the Titus Frost Channel!

Sort:  

Everyone should see this documentary and give it a 'like' on you tube. I didn't know that you made it @titusfrost as I watched it months ago and didn't pay much attention to the name at the time. Now I'm even more pleased to be following you.

The Clinton's kill people that know too much and/or threaten their empire. They've run drugs through Mena, Arkansas when Bill was Governor and today the Clinton Foundation take bribes/donations in return for political favors from Hillary and the US Gov't.

The Clinton's should be jailed - they deserve the death penalty - they are psychopaths.

Keep the up the great work!

Thanks man! I appreciate the kind words!