Steam Alternatives

in #steam2 years ago

I love discussing new platforms and the potential it COULD have, and what it could do to the market.

I think what's putting me off with Steam is that you don't actually "own" your game, so you can't do anything with it. There's no option to sell your game. Some platforms came up with a nice solution that benefits all three parties: sell your game and each party gets a piece of the profit. Percentages may change, but the developers have the option to set limits on how much a game can be re-sold for. It's an evolution in this part of the industry that I believe needs some refinement. Developers work hard to get all their games out there in a timely manner and they should be compensated for their work. I wouldn't mind taking less money on a sale if I could support my favorite developers.