New Style Drawing- OC The Legion - Goliath Class

goliath_artwork_effect_bg.jpg

Assignments/Crits

Hi, it's been a while now since my last post. For the past few weeks, it has been tough for me because I had to complete my assignments and crits. It has been 7 weeks so the works have become hard and harder. There are only 7 weeks more to go before the final crit.
Sorry!!

Update

For the past weeks, I also had attended an extra class for character design. Although it quite pricey for a student but I had learned new things and I'm really happy and excited to test the result. I also learned to draw in a new style. The older anime style that I have, I've quite loved it but I'm also eager to test my new style. So, today lets create an original character.

Idea/interest

Ok, first let's think of 'what do I like?'. For me, I like armor, soldier and war kind of things. I also like my character to be a big, bulky, tank-like character that can protect his allies.
Let's start with some simple sketch. You can do many sketches because it can help generate more interesting features for your character but for me, I already have what I want my character to look like.
goliath.jpg
Here is my Goliath Class. Goliath mean big and it sounds so cool!!

  • No more anime (hahaha)
  • I have change

Sketch

Ok, now that we already have the design, let's start with the sketch and pose.
goliath_artwork_sketch.jpg

  • Let's give him a big shield

Line Art

Ok, now let's do the line art. It a while to do it. Careful and be patience.
goliath_artwork_lineart.jpg

  • Yeah! we have passed the hard part

Base Color

Now the fun begins, let's give our character his colors. There a lot of color combination, test it to find the best choice.
goliath_artwork_base colour.jpg

  • You can use color wheel for guide, just go to google and type 'color wheel'

Shader

Next, we need to give it some shader, it can enhance the visual look of your character and give depth to the base color.
goliath_artwork_shader.jpg

  • Always check where the light source is

Light/Shine

Now, we can apply some light or shine on it. It can give the impressions of the metal and materials on the character.
goliath_artwork_light.jpg

Background and Effects

Lastly, we can do the background and apply some effects to the character.
goliath_artwork_effect_bg.jpg

  • Love the Environment
  • Happy New Year

Here a Gif to show the process.
Webp.net-gifmaker.gif

Finish!! there you go, my OC, Goliath Class. I don't have the name yet. hahaha. I hope you guy like it and in the future, I would love to create more. Its fun and exciting. I know it late but...

Happy New Year!! and Have a nice day.
Thank you so much for the supports and
I try my best to post more !!

See you soon!!

Sort:  

It is really cool!:D
Just remember you can draw anime again anytime you want n_n there is no obligation to stick to a style :P

You can also post sketches to keep your account alive =)

keep making art!!

Thank you. yeah, I love both styles but for now, I wanna experiment with the style.
thank you for the advice, I really appreciate it.

woo! can't wait to see those experiments!:D

It's a cool character @akmalbastamam. Nice job.

Nicely design! I love the body design, though the shield design is kinda simple (Like a police shield). It would be more epic if he had a more intricate design of a shield, heavy-looking like Shielder from FGO. It's just an opinion, but still good work nonetheless. Keep up the good work dude!

thank you for the comment, now that you mention it, yeah the shield is kinda simple. hahaha I think I should add some details to it. Yes, Mashu's shield was awesome. I try my best, you too dude!

Wow, @akmalbastamam. Boleh aku buat fanart character ko x? Gempak wei!

boleh, apa salahnya. thank you

Haha I've been where you at in terms of avoiding anime style to grow. Recommend doing a style dissection and study of styles you like you really wanna come up with a unique style. Anyways, cool design. I can actually picture it being a playable character in TF2

thank you for the advice, I really hope that I can come up with my own unique style.