Steem Cartoon : Concept Art Animation Series (Part 1)

in #steem-cartoon6 years ago (edited)

conseptart eicak header.jpg

We always wonder how animation series comes to live. I am lucky to be working on a few animation and this particular one is called 'Eicak' that is co-produced by two famous animation studios in Malaysia called Kromosom Lab Studio and Addeen Multimedia. I am the concept artist in this 3D animation and I wish to share some of my experience in preparing this.

pre pro concept.jpg

This is pre production ceoncept. Before starting on an episode in the series I have been given the script and storyboard to know what will unflod. There I will be give a few location and the production designer will create the design and my work starts from there.

sketch idea.jpg

The first process I am given a rough sketch on the location and view from the director. It is from these input I get to know of the location, weather and suitable colour from his point of view.

step 1.jpg
From the earlier discussion, I get the idea that it must be a cheerful place and he wants bright colours which is turquoise and lime green. It is though these combination of ideas that I have included the colours. I start by colouring the sky and earth so that I get the right colour mood.

step 2.jpg

After getting the right combination of the weather and temperature, I focus on the shape of the island. I use the lasso tool to ensure that it looks clean. Every layer has to be separated to ensure that the next process is simpler.

step 3.jpg

This process is towards lighting and shadowing. I mix the colour of the shadow and I use a lot of dark purple and dark blue by using multiple layer and overlay layer.

step 4.jpg

I use flat brush to blend the colour and to create a soft surface. This is where the detailing work starts so that the object will be more vibrant.

step 5.jpg

This is the final detail. I use the overlay brush to increase the colour so that it 'pops up' and
gives and illusion that it is protruding. The main character in the story is included to give it a chemistry between the background and the character.


credit to @zomagic

Sort:  

Amazing artwork! It is not easy to create such a cute animation. Love it.

Thank you jiashin..appreciate that.. :)

perghhh! bapak lawa la bro! good job!! I'm speechless, truly amazing

Thanks Akmal..masa ini baru tengah nak belajar guna brush senget .

hahaha saya pon baru tau yg brush boleh senget. new experience ^^

haha tak per boleh try dulu ..

abang aura pawer..nak kejar kena naik motor...jauh tinggal lam 80 tiang..terbaek bohh!Kemah keming!! :)

hahah tapi tang inking aku pulak jauh ketinggalan 90 tiang..

Steady bro..cool design..teringat zaman main gameboy dulu tapi main kat pc la..hahaha..golden sun ke apa ntah tajuknya..

haha tq bro..tapi tu la cadangan asal memang nak nampak looks macam game sikit.. :)