Steem Cartoon : Making Waves

in #steem-cartoon6 years ago (edited)

header ombak.jpg

When an illustrator tells you that he is making waves you got to take him literally. In my case, literally I am making waves. With my experiment art this time around, I use the triangle shaped brush to create something unique. I choose a subject that can bring forth the medium that I am using effectively. I choose the splash of the waves on the rocks as my subject.

step ombak 1.jpg

I start my rough sketch. From the Photoshop I open the tools and in custom shape, I create a library for triangle shape. I get multiple strokes, I start to create a few triangle positions, all this to ensure that the surface of the painting is within my control.

step ombak 2.jpg

From the sketch, I can choose the flat colour and use the triangle shape and each object has to be separated in layers. The location of the triangle must follow the movement of the wave to ensure that the visual is more impactful. you can see from the arrow how I form the stroke of the wave from a triangle.

step ombak 3.jpg

The sketch of the sky can be completed by using shape. The choice of colour must be in the medium range.

step ombak 4jpg.jpg

Focus the attention on the sea. I use navy blue and mixed with some grey for the further part of the sea. For the part which is closer to the audience, choose ivory for the waves and lightseagreen for the closest part, so that the water looks crystal clear. Just like your Evian mineral water.

step ombak 5.jpg

In the next step, focus on the front part of the waves. Here, the attention by using the triangle shape is required. The location of the triangle must follow the direction of the wave when it hits the rocks.

step ombak 6.jpg

Now we focus on the rocks. In this process, you need the texture on the rocks. It can be quite tough. To render on the surface of the rocks, you need many triangles and a the narrow part of the rocks can be quite challenging.

step ombak 7.jpg

After succesfully creating the rocks, I insert the small triangles according to the tide of the waves. I get the impact in my artwork. On the part of the wave, I can add some traingles to get the effect as though the water has froths. The result is pretty unique.

step ombak 8.jpg

To complete this work you can include additional triangle details on incomplete surface.

Conclusion


I am very satisfied with this piece of work although I face difficulty without using the brush. The result of the triangle as a texture is very unique and it projects a very artistic aura. Get it, aura...



credit to @zomagic

Sort:  

That is so awesome how you make that with triangles. It looks so cool! It's very organic, and geometric at the same time!

I'm just got the idea from pixel art.Then transform that idea into a triangle shape.Thanks to you for visiting my blog. I'm happy you like it. :)

terbaik bro! berapa lama ambil masa untuk siapkan ni bro?

ambil masa 5 hours juga ni rehan..huhu :) Tq.

This is mesmerizing! Beautiful work @aurah :)

Thank you so much! @sndbox ~ ♡.It means a lot to me.Great to have your support.🙏🏻😉

😮😮😮😮 triangular pixels drawing! Awesome gila!

haha saja saja gatal tangan nak berexperimentasi ..Thanks a lot @kymio.

Lawanya.. 0

Thanks, @edysveins.. try la buat satu ..:)

Saya kagum dengan kesabaran dan ketekunan kamu menghasilkan karya ini.

Terima Kasih en. manaisarawak🙏🏻 Saya cuba mencari kelainan.Tapi untuk menghasilkan karya seperti ini memang perlukan kesabaran yang tinggi :)

Wah, I like the pixel-art vibe going on. It would be cool if a game's art direction is like this :D

hope so too.Thanks @wanaf for your brilliant idea. :)

ur brush stroke so stylize, really amazing work you done , nice job.

I love to experiment with many styles... Thank you for visiting my blog :)