The Summoning of the Wo-Owl - WO-OWL #1 Challenge

in #steem-cartoon6 years ago (edited)

finished.png

In between the time where the oil is burned and the sun breaks, the followers of the mighty Wo-Owl rejoice as the magic is summoned in the witching hour. The entity comes, mighty yet humbling, as it grants its promised wishes of acknowledgement and fame to those who manage to catch its attention.

Hello, everyone! This is my entry for @perennial's contest to celebrate the reveal of #steem-cartoon's new logo, The Wo-Owl!

#Steem-cartoon

It's the community both @perennial and @sireh started to bring together the creative Malaysian talent so that not only would they get recognition but to also provide a way to earn directly. I've been very lucky to have been in this community, as not only does my work get recognition and feedback but I also have been able to find so many hidden talented gems both locally and globally.

So when @cartoonistpandan released the design for logo of this community, I was beyond overjoyed because the design absolutely adorable and really fits the night owl lifestyle most of us subscribe too (I'm looking you guys that post 4 - 5 a.m. Malaysian time). Not only is the design absolutely amazing but I can it being super versatile! (I want a t-shirt and maybe a couple of jewelry based on this cutie haha).

Anyways, onto the drawing!

In The Beginning...

As @nanawawa mentioned in her entry, both of us had the initial idea of creating something based off of masquerades (I personally blame Labyrinth. May you rest in peace, Goblin King) and well, we had to improvise.

My first idea after that was to create an owl queen. The queen of owls. I liked the sound of that but alas, it was not to be as it was an idea I fiercely fought with in the sketching process. It was not going to happen (at least, right now) so I had to move on this second take, which is the drawing below! Yay!

process-01.png

Now I would typically show my sketch below my lineart and flat colors but I have a bit of a surprise in the end on how I incorporated the logo into this drawing.

So my idea ended up being an owl witch summoning the owl entity that is Wo-owl to call for its assistance. The inspiration behind this was the very long distance relationship between a creative and an early bed time as well as how the #steem-cartoon community is like an entity formed from the collective hardwork of everyone involved. It's a fantastical twist of the relationship, you could say.

Sun and Moon

process-02.png

One of the key things I wanted to portray was how this witch probably stayed up really late till the really wee hours of the morning to summon Wo-Owl. I had drawn the witch to have some eye bags but I also had to make sure both the sun and the moon were in the drawing. I did a couple adjustments for the placement of the sun and moon. At first I wanted to leave that bottom window pretty barren and plain but gotta be a little extra today.

Also, in the end, I hid the summoning circle because I wasn't too happy about the placement. I'll be coming back to it later when everything else around it comes to place.

The Witch

process-03.png

I did my first round of soft shading around the gradient. An eraser doesn't just remove but is a drawing tool as well, so I used that in my shading this time. I simply erased the parts where the light would touch. I call it lazy shading but it can be quite tedious as well haha.

I didn't feel there wasn't enough oomph! in the shadows so I added a tiny bit of my regular cell-shading method. As for the light on the character, soft brush on normal layer. The cloth flying around her arms was done in a separate group and had a different opacity. I'm happy with how that came out. I think it gave a bit more of that reaction needed to summoning.

Play With A Little Fire

process-04.png

Floating candles still need to be lit. So I did the usual colour choices for the fire. But I thought I could do something a little different with it. This is a fantasy setting afterall. I played around with a colour overlay and the hue/saturation adjustment layer. It gave this pretty cool warm, ghostly colour combo so I rolled with it!

In addition to that, I added an outer glow to the fire because why not? Maybe the candles are floating because of ghosts, who knows...

Add A Little Magic

process-05.png

What's a witch without her magic? Time to go really ham on the outer glow. I readded the summoning circle again. Wo-Owl makes its appearance in all its glowing glory. Probably had some red bull on its way to be summoned since it now has wings.

Now Some Photoshop Magic

process-06.png

To add depth, I used Gaussian blur on the candles since they were done in a separate group and layer (planning is important too, yo!). I added a bit of a bokeh-ish effect near the candles. It's not the prettiest but I think it does add something in the end. And since this is digital, I used a bit of colour correcting and playing with the level curves (yay, digital!) My final step is doing my regular outer blur effect to get the final image.

The Reveal

Okay, I mentioned how versatile the logo is, so as a little extra challenge to myself and a friendly competition between myself and @serarious as to many Wo-Owl we can fit in our drawing entries.

finished-owlreveal.png

I count around 12 (counting each side of the wallpaper pattern as an owl). Your move, Sera >=D

Mini competition aside, it took a bit of creativity for me to find out the many ways to incorporate the logo into the drawing. The lace and window are my favourites (and also the most time consuming to line). And so, that's basically my process for this drawing. Really liking the entries so far and I encourage all reading to try it out before it ends! 8D

TL:DR AKA Process GIF

process-tldr.gif

That's it for now! See ya next post!

U5dtkYqckewxmNRfvjCFDQrVJU8Hwgi.gif
Animated by @zord189
DQmQ599LwdiqJJw5oko4MK4PHcPJCZkvk8ScrW9ojcJfGX9.png

SC-GIF.gif
Animted by @zord189
DQmQk2LL9GuYjXRs1zo6k2fNCf899rTXqr8A2ZuQCrF8DU9.png
Banner by @zomagic. Logo design by @cartoonistpandan

Sort:  

ayyy, nice one @hanbun. love your artwork. gud luck ^^

Thank ya very much, @akmalbastamam!
Love your army piece. Could say steemcartoon now is a growing army LOL

HOOT HOOT NAISU

HOOT HOOT SNOOT THANK YOU

Hoot hoot (cult approved)

Bun bun draw soo nice.. ><.. gud workkkkk

Thank ya lots, @muxidsq!
You entering too?

Plan too.. just hope i make it in taimmm sweats 😅😧

Remember, when no day time, there is always night time...and no sleep 8D

This is tight and awesome stuff @hanbun. impressive thick color and bravely done. :)

All thanks to your design for inspiration, @cartoonistpandan! 8D

you are so good with colors! Really like them >< all the best!

Thank you, @elliebong, and the well wishes too!
But our juniors are quite formidable too though huhu

Yeahh and it makes it more challenging haha

I really like how you explain your process around the drawing, it's really creative, I don't know if it's the color choice that seems kind of opaque, but really well done in this drawing ! Looking forward to see more of your pieces o(^0^)o

Thank you very much, @asuka08! Glad that you like my work =D

cute work! Why not let's make a cartoon series/short animation here in Steemit. I can write a story.

Thanks, @gilnambatac! Unfortunately, I don't really have time for any projects with commitment at the moment as I'm focusing on my project for my final year at university

Oh that so cool
Next time i will trying :) drawing that
Regards me @putrakhan
I'm drawing and music cover from indonesia..
If you have time can you visit my blog
. :)
We support

Thanks, @putrakhan! Do try entering the contest too if you got the time =)

Alright tell me if have the new contest
Today i have new post :)
Can ure visit my blog if have the time
I follow you
#congratulations @hanbun

nice artwork ! I'm new at Steemit , glad to see some Malaysians around ^_^

Thank you, @twenty5channel! The Malaysian community here is growing bigger now hopefully 8D

I love your works! Nice concept there's so much feel to it, its' amazing.

I was wowed by these amazing photos you presented on your post. It's magical to look at. Also by just using those simple subjects they appeared to be very artistic. I can't say anything actually. it's just beautiful! I really appreciate it. Thanks too for sharing knowledge about photography. Keep it up. Well done :)

I like your drawing very much :)

I would very much like to see you in my drawing

https://steemit.com/drawing/@blackwhale/my-drawing-mercedes-e200

Capture.JPG
The reason I upvote. Harold is freakin adorable!!

Harold the Second*

Wow... what a good way to celebrate the new logo... Your art it's amazing

Thank you, @jedamez

This is totally OWL-verload xD

I'm just OWL-lery excited

I love you job ^^

Wow this looks sooo good!! It's so colorful and I liked how you blurred out the candles in the foreground. Also love seeing where you put all of the owls lol. I hope I can make something too! But I'm missing my tablet's USB wire LOL.

Thank you so much, @rideordiestudio! Oh, man, missing tablet wires suck. Hope you find yours soon so you can participate!

Way to go Team Malaysia. I am sure à lot of artists, painters and cartoonist will take part in Steemit Cartoon. @hanbun that is great piece of art work, beautiful and imaginative. As a member of Team Malaysia, I have come out with the Positive Vibes Daily Challenge.

Thank you, @positivesteem. #steem-cartoon is growing steadily in numbers. I have to say that my juniors involved in the community are extremely talented and I'm happy they are aware of this platform and all the supportive communities on it much earlier than I did in university career. And love the challenge you started!

Looking forward to your participation in the challenge.It is still a new challenge and I am trying to spread the news about it.

Hey i like your drawing! I only thought that we can only put one in the artwork, but yeah i should make it as many i can too hahah need to think out of box

Thanks, @ariffashraff! If it's not stated, always assume it's possible is my way of things ;D

I am an artist too but I make sketches. I will try to make a post too.

Wow. Or should I say Wo-owl. This is your best work yet. I loveeee the stained glass windows. And the last gif blew my mind.

Thank you, @thunderbirdcomic! Haha I'm just glad the stained glass window turned out pretty good looking. That thing took a while to line xD