Steem Cartoon-Create your Christmas Skin, I'm going with Tristana, Gingerbread Cannon Tristana (Step by Step)

in #steem-cartoon7 years ago (edited)

Gingerbread Cannon Tristana
Gingerbred Canon Tristana.jpg

~ヾ(^∇^) BIG THANKS TO @hanbun for the preloved watercolour u sold to me. I FERKIN LOVE IT SO MUCH!! <3

Although the lack of some colour that i usually use (skin colour, especialy) , I can actually put other colour in the small side pockets!! LOVELY~

To be honest, I didn't intend on joining it (1st time joining a competition organize by Garena, "Create your Christmas Skin") especially since I'm too busy with work (EXCUSES DUMI) but I unconsciously start sketching some Christmas skin concept in my sketchbook. Design for Tristana and fiora but i went for Tristana instead because she is cute and my hearts insisting on drawing her even though she already have a Christmas Skin "Earnest Elf Tristana"
WhatsApp Image 2017-12-21 at 2.38.jpg
These sketches was like 11 days before deadline, so I was like "Heck~, just join la since i can test out my new (kinda) water colour as well. AND IT DOESN'T DISAPPOINT~!

Now on to the process(Noted that i like to finish colouring the character first then the background, just because (*′☉.̫☉)):

  1. After deciding on the design concept and poses, I add on some elements on the drawing so it will look less 'empty'. And this ended up into this
    1.jpg
    I ask some of my friends for advice on how to make it better, someone told me to make it cuter try to make the ears goes down inside the hat instead of leaving it up. The "on the tree stump' idea was from a friend of mine who just randomly said "Make her sit on a stump la, and put a bit of snow on it." And it was not a bad idea XD. I originally wanted her to sit on a rock covered in snow but it would not make it interesting with the lack of colour and all.

  2. Then i started with a REALLY light colour, just to determine is it suitable or not for the colour to be at where they are.
    2.jpg
    (I forgot that her skin was purple at first, and i actually try so hard to mix red and yellow into skin colour XD)

  3. This is when i add the 1st layer of shadows in my drawing
    3.jpg
    At first I planned on colouring her inner clothes with blue, but then it will look kinda off, so I decided to overlay it with brown instead (THIS IS WHY I COLOUR MY BASED REALLY LIGHT :3)

  4. I then add a more darker tone into the painting to make it more vibrant and pigmented
    5.jpeg

  5. Although i said to make it pigmented, I actually didn't manage to achieve that on the last step because i was too gawdamn scared to add such dark colour in my painting, because unlinke digital, WATERCOLOUR CAN'T UNDO and this makes me paranoid to go with such. But @ellyn-suraya manage to demonstrate to me how to apply it (Cause she is damn good in traditional painting >3<) and i now can do it. I am of course still trying to get the hang of it.
    7.jpg

  6. After done with the character, I continue to use the same technique for the background. That ended up like this
    8.jpg
    A little bird told me to use blue or purple overlap for the shadow area or outline*

  7. Adding more details by using white pen and a bit of outline on the painting.
    Gingerbred Canon Tristana.jpg
    Did a bit of adjustment after I scanned the drawing because scanning always makes the colour dull-er XD

DONE~

Side note:
The watercolour is dem nice and portable >-<. I coloured this when i have free time either at home or in class cause most of the time I don't. So having them is really convenient. (NO SPILLING OF WATER OR COLOUR)
Also, this is my way of colouring, of course they may be some technique that use that is incorrect or different from others, I'm am comfortable with it, and of course i accept any type of improvement or method from others cause I am still learning :3
WhatsApp Image 2017-12-21 at 4.06.58 AM.jpeg
Waterbrush, tissue and watercolour~

Extra
1.gif

Thank you for reading and i hope you guys learn a thing or two, or none.. Depends XD
Bai bai~

Sort:  

I learned 4 :P hehe very cool watercolor art! I hope to do another one some day xD maybe next year x)

thanks @fabiyamada glad u like itt.. n of course i willll.. eheheeh, watercolour is fun too dooo

nicee... goodjob syafiqah @muxidsq ...

thx mr @sireh !!! thx fr introducing me on steemitt 🐣

im rooting for you eventhou i still wanna win too XD

@shuazir ahaha urs is gud.. lol same, but if didnt win at least i proud of my workkk >< (still hoping to win) Gud luck to u toooooo 😀😀

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @muxidsq to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!