WEEK #4: Designing LOONA Fanmade Merchandise

Hey again everyone! I'm trying to get my posts back on its regular schedule, so here's what I've been working on recently! I've put in an order for some clear pouches that can be filled with pencils, pens, erasers and so on to print my illustrations on and resell at conventions. This design is of three girls from a Korean Pop girl group called "LOONA."

Who is LOONA?
LOONA is originally made of 12 members, but the three girls in this drawings are in a "sub-unit" or their own group within a group called "Odd Eye Circle." From left to right: Jinsoul, Cheorry, and Kim Lip. I recommend listening to this song by them if KPOP is your thing (this music video is where I got their outfits from).

Feel free to hit play while you read through this post!


So now I'll break down my process. I spent hours developing each face to get their likeness as close as I could to the girls. Then I roughly sketched out their poses and clothes.


I went over the sketch with cleaner lines and thickened the outer edges of the hair to get a more cartoon-y look.


I darkened the background so I could easily see if I was within the lines. I filled the figures with blue on one layer to create a clipping mask. This makes it so that I can color without worrying about keeping within the lines every single time.


Here, I've laid down the base colors and added simplified patterns and designs to the jackets.


I managed to take screenshots during part of my process of coloring Kim Lip's face. In Paint Tool SAI, I used the brush tool to lay a thick line of red and softened the line (leaving just an edge left) using the water brush/tool.


After finishing with adding red to all the faces, I shaded the hair and clothes loosely.


This step can be tedious, but here I've preserved the opacity of the line-art and colored over it to give a softer feel. I might do a tutorial on related functions in the future for beginners!


Lastly, I readjusted the position of the figures, created a grid on Photoshop to replace the ghetto-rigged one, added the LOONA logo, and applied a light purple tinge.


The image I used for reference.


Thanks for reading! I hope maybe some of you can appreciate LOONA's music! These pouches will probably print sometime next month or so. I hope to take pictures of them when I receive them!

Fall semester begins this Wednesday! I'm pretty anxious about it since my classes end around 8PM or so every weekday. The campus sends out a lot of e-mails about nearby or onsite assaults/muggings etc. so it makes me feel uneasy. Good luck to other students on here!

banner illustration by: @orenisme

Sort:  

OOOOHHHHH I LOVE EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS...ehem.....and I really find the small GIF useful. and it's nice to see that they don't have the same face syndrome.

Ahhh thank you!! <3 I hope I can show my step-by-step processes better in the future! Haha yeah I was worried about the same-face but I hope each member is recognizable to fans!

hello angel, very amazing post. But you should really put your photo in a post so that it becomes easy to verify your identity who you are and that can bring you a lot upvote as your work is fantastic.

Thank you for the feedback! I also think it's interesting to see other artists' faces here on Steemit to get to know who's behind the artwork, but in my case I made the decision to exclude my physical appearance for privacy purposes (not just on Steemit but on all social media also). Thank you very much for appreciating my artwork and the nice comment!

Owh!!! I really love the way you colour XD, thanks for the sharing :D

Thank you very much! I feel like my coloring style changes all the time, haha!

Ohmygosh! I love this! It's so cuteee!!!! You captured each girl's facial features very well! <3

Congratulations @rideordiestudio! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @rideordiestudio! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!