Steem Cartoon : Design Through Reference

in #steem-cartoon6 years ago

DC_Cover_00.jpg

Designing by Reference


Sometimes we wonder how more than 1 reference is combined to form a composite piece. I would want to use an example to deliver the process of different point of references to produce one single composite result.

CDref01.jpg

Here are two separate references. The image link can be found here

CDprocess01.jpg

The first starting point would be the basic sketch and then include some basic tones.

CDprocess02.jpg

The second step is to start with the shadowing. The point of reference would be the position of the sunlight.

CDprocess03.jpg

Add some background and to make the subject stand out more, some soft patterns in the background will give a little more emphasis to the subject.

DC15.jpg

This is the final product, a successful incorporation of two separate references into a composite artwork.

DC15GIF.gif



credit to @zomagic

Sort:  

Super cool, me next?

Hi Kubby!... Thank You... hahaha...
Currently, I'm a little bit occupied with many things... but will try my best to spare time for you ya...
cheers!

Very cool drawing. So this is how you get colors. The reference picture is from artist Loish? You have great skills, I love what you created.

A good program could work in the future :)

Yup... easy to learn...

hey hey hey my dear friend,, Now im following you + upvoted & comments also... plzzz give me a nice feedback,, plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

OK... nice feedback...

wow...cun bro...cun giler...looks simple but adorable....very nice work.

thank you buddy!

wow.. I assume you draw using Wacom tablets?

My wacom is out for repair... huhu... now I'm using Ugee as a substitute... cheap version of cintiq... hahaha... surprisingly its quite good...

Wacom tablets (especially high end models) are pure garbage to someone like me because I am not gifted in the field of drawing, arts or animation. But to someone like you, you can even amaze yourself with what can be achieved.

Wow! Wow! Wow!

sejak ada wacom ni makin pawer la abam sireh main digital..two thumbs up!! :)