Steem Cartoon : The Wisdom of the Hammer & Nail

in #steem-cartoon6 years ago (edited)

01 NailFence.jpg
(If this resonate and hit a chord, it is meant to be so and hopefully we all learn a lesson and make our community a better place for all)

There was once a boy. He gets angry when things don't go his way. In other words he is a bully and he is angry all the time. He bullies everyone. If he meet ants, he will stomp them. If he sees a grasshopper he will pull off its legs, if he sees a little girl with a teddy bear he will take away that teddy bear. He loves to shout,

'Do as I say!'

He is angry all the time...he walks around fuming and he does not have many friends. But his anger doesn't always take him places.

02 NailFence.jpg

He was very angry when he met Brutus, and he said, 'Call me boss'. Brutus didn't bother about him and gave him a punch in the face. Looks like not everyone submits to his anger and bullying ways.

03 NailFence.jpg

He bumped into the village headman one day. Here you go boy, each time you get angry because people don't listen to you or comply with your demands take this nail and hammer and hammer on the wooden fence. He didn't understand why.

04 NailFence.jpg

He hammered the nail into the fence with fury. He vented his anger. How dare you disobey my order? How dare you defy me? How dare you refuse to acknowledge me? How dare you refuse to call me your superior? Various angry words were said and he continued for several days...

He realised that he could not sustain his anger. By the 7th day, he lost most of his anger because it has been transferred to the fence. The fence became his punching bag. He took the hammer and the balance bag of nails and returned it to the wise old man.

'I learnt my lesson. I will repent and change my bossy ways. I shouldn't impose on people because it makes me nasty and not likeable. I want to be likeable like @orangila or @abgmie'. He said. He was remorseful.

05 NailFence.jpg

The old man now said,

Now time for you to remove the nails

He got a shock. You meant there is the part to undo? I thought the lesson is over. Remove the nails and see the marks that was left by your anger and actions. The action of removing the nails was in fact tougher than the embedding the nails.

06 NailFence.jpg

He took more than the days he took to hammer the nails. He realised his actions. The things that he has done thus far has caused hurt and anger to many. He understood the lesson. It is not just about him repenting his ways. The things he had done in the past has consequences and some scars has become too deep and will always remain.

07 NailFence.jpg

I love to share this story because I resonate with this story. I could have accidentally been that boy without realising and when I realise I try to remove that nail but I know that the scar and damage is sometimes done. There are many people around me that stood strong beside me and helped me in this community from the days when I first started and believed in my vision. You know who you are.

You stood by me through thick and thin and if there is any rain or storm we will brave it together. That is why we have our comunnity of #steem-cartoon. You showed me fullest support in #steem-cartoon and you are now showing the same support for #steem-music and you know we are behind you without flinching.

There were times you stood out not for yourself but for us and we appreciate it. I always hope that people see behind childish actions and senseless hammering of nails because of anger. I also like how you move to support other communities and you had included us. Trust us that we do not budge in our stand and we counted on you when noone even realised our existence.

This shoutout goes out to #teammalaysia babes. Good initiative. I am all for community building. It is about awareness, humility, it is bout the minnows, it is about believing in the cause. The upvotes will come naturally.

People who wants to know more about law there is an opportunity to hear it from @perennial. People who love music can hear it from @zhusatriani and @calebleejl. These awesome people are the ones who will make a real difference to the communities that they are in. Salute guys. I am sure if you read their posts, they don't benefit from strong upvotes and they do live through a few cents of upvotes but they keep moving on. That is the character that makes the man. That is the character that I admire.

08 Wisdom.jpg



credit to @zomagic

Sort:  

Wow, I didn't know that I am that likeable.. hahaha
Amazing post... do you usually base your drawing on the storyboard or vice versa??

@orangila, I second @sireh. Not only likable, lovable and adorable too!

And before @sireh asks, "what about me?"
I better answer now, you too! :))

OK lah OK lah, in case anyone get hurt,
all Malaysians in Steemit are likable, lovable and adorable too!... a lesson well learned from @sireh's post on Wisdom of the Hammer and the Nails. ROFLOL..!

Upvote this if you agree! ;)

What about me?

Hahaha... you're great man... very dedicated to your craft and super humble... I believe one day you will find a success here in steemit.

Drawing is least of my problem... I've been doing that in the past 20 years (yup since my school days so you're not mistaken me as an old guy... hahaha)... as long as I get the right theme, the characters, layout and the composition will come in a freeflow... Writing in my language is also fine. However, writing a long story in English requires me to seek help from a few friend who are very good at it... I'm still in the learning process...

Yeah... hopefully we will all be successful here in Steemit together...
I guess photography to me is like drawing to you... I've been doing it for 20 years and it comes naturally to me...

Beautiful post and heart touching story dear @sireh

the parable is a good one. we insaf. we try our best to undo the damage and hurt. but sometimes it's just the consequences in life. :(

thanks for your support. we #steem-music appreciate it from the depths of our heart. looking forward to the meetup. it's going to be a special one. :)

Banner Steem-Music (500x200).jpg

At the moment I joined steemit... the upvotes didn't entice me... I can earn more with my commission's job... but I'm all for community building and support... I want my student, my friends and those who I admire to have a good platform to share their knowledge, learn from each other and get the feedback from the global audience. The reward is only part of the bonus. The real value for me is the friendship that based on trust and honesty. Hopefully one day I will have enough SP to support many more.

We love #steem-music and other communities that bring knowledge and fun to others. Yup! looking forward to it too...

wow! that's awesome. really hope you get more SP to support your noble quest! I've also met many friends through this platform. including you. thanks for your valuable advice time and time again. looking forward to seeing you at the next event. very very soon! :)

OMG, i read this fable looooong ago (hope this does not reveal my age ;)) and now to view in cartoon format sure hits home!

Gonna resteem this bro. Steem on! <3

Hahaha... tq @patlu ... age is only in the state of mind...

Thanks to internet... i can search for many inspirational ideas... tq for resteeming...😊

So have you open a bookshop yet? @sireh. So that you can sell your comic la!!! Great drawings and followed by a moral story!! I miss those days during the late 70s and early 80s when all I ever did look forward to, when visiting my grandparents and uncles in JB, was that their houses were full of comic books such as Lots of Lat and The Beano Comic.

Open a bookshop?... wahhh I'm not that good in business... furthermore, the physical comic book market is shrinking right now... however, I have few titles published back in between 2000 - 2012, now no longer in stock laa... planning on collaboration with my student this year... see how it goes...

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Do checkout other posts made by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/created/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

I used to read about this story. But reading & seeing this story in comic format, gave it a new breath. I totally like this

Sireh, it is a remarkable story and nice illustration cartoon. I love it. A story can be a booklet and be read again from time to time.