No Monkey Business~

in #steem-cartoon6 years ago (edited)

IMG_3281B.jpg
Drew this after I watched Aaron Kwok's character in 'The Monkey King 2 (2014)'
The character design is a bit flat I must say (゜▽゜;) hahaha
Well.. I tried.. 」( ̄▽ ̄」)

10509771_10152619530163043_867170868350111816_n.jpg
This was an avatar/icon that I created during my 3rd year in college. Instead of writing our name on the sketchbook, our lecturer asked us to create an icon that represent us. Thus, 'Trouble Monkey' was born!! (PPG reference) hahaha (^▽^) And it has evolved since then (Prof X reference) This icon was inspired by the Monkey King mythos & the name.. well, Wukong always gets into trouble so, yeah.. Trouble Monkey gave a lil' ring to it.

This post is about... well.. Monkey King-Sun Wukong.
I bought (one of it) a book at Big Bad Wolf last year (just had the time to look at it recently) title; The Monkey King: 72 Transformations of the Mythical Hero. The book was a collection of art by 72 artists from around the globe using different styles and media in re-imagining the famous mythological figure, Sun Wukong.

IMG_3061.JPG
The front cover

IMG_3062.JPG
Such a wonderful artwork! A few pages will be enough to inspires you.

IMG_3064.JPG
Different media; sculpting (statue/toy design) Make me wanna try figure sculpting
(The last time I did was way back in college. hahaha)

IMG_3065.JPG
Well, dayumn~

IMG_3066.JPG
A pop art-ish

IMG_3068.JPG
This was my favorite :)

IMG_3067.JPG
A clean & most common interpretation of the Monkey King

There were a lot of Son Wukong's re-creation over the years.
The famous Monkey King so far is Son Goku from 'Dragon Ball'.
son-goku-as-a-child-in-color.png
The manga was serialized in 'Weekly Shonen Jump' in 1984 & it has been 34 years since the debut! (Still going strong!)

a57884a053e58ae43f4bf547ed81b23f05ca5281_hq.jpg
Another manga called 'Saiyuki' was loosely based on the Chinese mythology itself. The manga was serialized in 'G-Fantasy' (huh?) in 1997 & similar to Dragon Ball, the series produced multiple manga sequels, video games, & anime adaptations.

saiyuki__journey_west_art_3.jpg
My personal favorite Monkey King design. This was from Koei's Saiyuki: Journey West, a 1999/2001 PlayStation game. I had a lot of fun playing this game back then... aaaaa, such a great memory~ hahaha (was able to finished it though)
This character design for me was the coolest among all the Monkey King that I know of.. (Well, that's very limited I guess) Long red hair with that evil smirk... Arghhh.. So cool!! hahaha

Below is the intro for the game. The BGM sounded cool back then. Now, it just sounds like a cheap, cheesy not fully developed song... hahaha.. But it still awesome though!


(My favorite scene; 0:48 (≧▽≦) )*

Well, of course there are more, in games, light novel etc... But I don't want to make this post too long.. hahaha
Guess that's all from me.. Until next time. Cheerio~

Sort:  

Cool art and great sources of inspiration. I like your lineart style

Wow! Thank you so much. Really appreciate it!

Haven't seen your sketches for a while. Keep em comin!

Hahaha! Yeah, it’s been ages, bruh!