GOKU : pencil to paint

in #steem-cartoon6 years ago (edited)

header.jpg

GOKU: PENCIL TO PAINT

Fever

Dragonball fever is back! New movies, games, and even a show that takes place after Z (skipping GT era) ! I grew up reading the malay translated manga of the series which was called Mutiara Naga (Dragon Pearls). I also have many fond memories of putting in 40 cents into the Card vending machines to get a random shiny card. It would be awesome if you could get any one of the saiyan characters in a cool pose on the cards. I had close to 200 cards which I sold off last year.


video source

I eventually watched a bit of the animated series but had 2 major issues with it:

  1. For the fight scenes there is a hell of a lot of talking and filler. I think an episode that I saw there were like 2 minutes of real action and 18 mins of talking.
  2. Goku is voiced by a woman (in the Japanese version). Whyyyy?

I do enjoy playing the latest game though,Dragon Ball Fighter Z cause it looks exactly like the 2D characters even though it's in 3D. Unfortunately, I am a casual so always get my ass kicked when I play the online lobby ( probably against 10 year olds too).

Also, These days I think Vegeta is a character that deserves more spotlight. Goku might be the one with raw talent but Vegeta trains like a madman to make sure he is not far behind. I choose to paint Goku though cause he is more fun to draw. On to the Art!

Art Process

For this piece I went digital, using the software photoshop.

So firstly I had to decide which version of Goku to work on , there is normal goku , super saiyan 1,2,3,4 ,Saiyan god etc. I chose Super Saiyan Blue which is Super Saiyan 1 but with blue hair instead of blonde. I like the blue saiyan look cause it provides a nice contrast with Goku's orange Gi.

So I did a sketch starting with the face and did rough pose of the body .
goku1.jpg

Next is painting in the midtones, as Anthony Jones would say , push in and pull out areas. I start out with greyscale first because I need more to practice my values more. My wise mentor always says that values are the most important part of a painting, once you get your values right , the color then comes in to provide "feeling" to the artwork. Also when I say mentor, I mean people on youtube who do painting tutorials.
goku3.jpg

I darkened the overall look a little and refined it further.
goku7.jpg

Now let's start to add in some color! Normally I would set the layer mode to color and start painting in the color right away. After studying an artist known as Artgerm, he applies a gradient map to his greyscale images first before he applies color to avoid getting a "muddy look".
goku8.jpg

Now I have painted in the skin color and the Gi color.
goku10.jpg

The Blue Saiyan !
goku19.jpg

Now for the background, I was thinking about putting in the sky but then blue sky would drawn his blue hair out. So I decided for an outer space scene instead.
goku20.jpg

I thought about doing some energy effects coming out of his hand at first but I scrapped the idea later cause it looked too "busy" for my taste.
goku22.jpg

Next I added in his monkey tail , yeah I know, I know , adult goku doesn't have a monkey tail , but it makes a for a more interesting image. It's no secret that Dragon Ball is inspired by Journey To The West , Goku's early adventures had him with a tail and a staff which is so Sun Wukong. Also I finally fixed the weird face and added in a rim light. I love rim lights, everyone needs one when they walk into a room. Also added in the symbol to his uniform. It means Go, taken from the first character in Goku's name.
goku26.jpg

To finish everything off, I contrasted the image a little and refined his open palm. Now it's ....

FINAL

goku_final_v2.jpg

ANIMATED PROCESS

goku29.gif

We are now at the end of the show, thanks for watching. so which Dragonball character is your fav?

Until next time,

wanafsmall.jpg

Latest Work

Ultra-Slothicorn
Global Collage Entry
Trial by Comics: Desert Sniper Inked
Slothicorn: The Toy


The logo designed by @cartoonistpandan and the banner by @orenisme!

Sort:  

very nice! Same here, bro. I remember looking out for the comic every week and getting ready RM4 every time!

Great art!

yeah the comics were just perfect in storytelling and action. But one things for sure yamcha is the lamest character

That's an incredible time to spend from drawing to painting. How much time did you spend on it?

hi @legendchew around 3 nights probably around 9 hours .

nice drawing bro!! awesome shading..

thanks bro, x sabar tgk animation show kau hehe

um... please don't mind me, I am just testing this out. I am not spamming, really. I'll be on my way now. oh yes... I just upvoted you by the way. Stephard Tester, superoo7/superoo7-dev

I like the step by step thing and different images of Goku. He is my favorite character in DB Verse

thanks man, goku is the hero of the story . He's doesnt care about money , and his loyalty to his friends while trying to better himself is exemplary. good choice

I love seeing your process - your work is incredible! Thanks for sharing.

@wanaf

Aww thanks @storybird , glad you enjoy it :D

wow!
Loved to see the process!
Great job...!
I remember watching DBZ as a young one, does bring back memories...
I haven't watched the newer episodes but I'll try to watch them whenn i do get the time to do so.
Goku is voiced by a lady in Japanese version...say what! :D
Thanks for participating in the contest..Best of luck ^_^

glad you like it @varunpaherwar , Goku is voiced by the same voice actress as kid and adult , to show that even as an adult he is still a kid at heart. It's a nice idea but not for me . I would prefer a goku who ages with the viewer , so we can see his growth in voice too.