The King of Junk : a painting

in #steem-cartoon6 years ago (edited)

header.jpg

Hello Steemians,

This is my post for a new digital painting which is called "The King of Junk"

ORIGIN

Yesterday I had to fight to get my luggage bag out of the store room. As luck would have it, it was placed right at the back of the storeroom, behind all kinds of junk which I didn't even know existed in the house. That was a good 20 mins of work out of taking all the junk out, getting the bag, then putting all the junk back in the storeroom. Pretty much forgot about it after that, case closed. Today however, I stumbled on a clip from the classic anime "Akira" where Tetsua and Kaneda have their battle ontop all of the rubble.

So when deciding on what to paint, I put two of those incidents together and boom " The king of Junk " is born.

This piece is Done in Photoshop , and took me around 3 hours .

THE PROCESS

So firstly I started out with a sketch. I wanted a king to be seating on an arm chair on a hill of junk. Originally I thought he was going to be a red robot but the idea evolved later. On a separate layar beneath the sketch layer, I painted the colors in. The color of the junk was carefully chosen so not to steal the thunder of the king on the chair. The red cape on the figure is a homage to tetsuo's cape from akira. After all the colors are in I then turned off the line art layer so I do the paint work. Also I am using a square brush to give it that square stroke style.

1.jpg

Now this is where the painting stage can take off. I fixed the position of the king because I wanted him to be facing more the direction of the viewer. Also, I decided that I only wanted the cape in red so he would have be a different color. I put some blues on his body to give him that separation. His head, I painted brown , like he is wearing a cardboard box. I have an affinity for cardboard boxes, mainly due to the game Metal Gear Solid.

2.jpg

This last stage is just further refinement, some detailing. I added some big clouds at the back. The "sword" beside him is actually meant to be an umbrella that's folded up. It looks cool either way.

3.jpg

FINAL

kingofjunkfinal.jpg

I brightened up the final a little, I found that images look bright on my monitor but dark and contrasted on others. I need to look into that problem.

Animated Process

1.gif

So there you have it, The King of Junk , The Boss of Scrap.

Thanks for watching
Till next post!

wanafsmall.jpg

Previous Posts

Slothicorn dance : hip hop version
Steem logo island (voxel art)
Steem logo in toy bricks
Goku : Pencil to Paint

Sort:  

Wow what an ingenuity painting you did, you truly have a creative talent

thank you for that compliment , it's just lots of practice :D

woww..nice shot..great painting as well!!

tq , bro @rambai :D

Congratulations @wanaf! Your entry was selected as a Weekly Art Challenge finalist featured on @stateofthearts; from your submission to the curation trail, hashtag stateofthearts.

thank you so much @stateofthearts!

👍

Thoroughly enjoyed your digital painting and the progression to it!

Dude really nice! And nice thumbnail for getting clicks too, really creative. Looking forward to seeing more work from you man!

haha thanks buddy, I will be going outstation for a month soon, will try and update as much as I can :D

Akira really messed me up back then. Cool ass painting, man. Very cool.

I sense a podcast coming up, top 10 most messed up anime , or have u done that already?

Hahaha! Havent watched enough anime :P

watch the evangelion remakes

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness