[Pull Request] Fix install issue with official Steem-Python library

in #steem-python6 years ago (edited)

image.png

Issue

The official steem-python library depends on the package toml. The package developer removed the latest version (9.3.1). This is an exceptional case as packages should never be removed, a new version should be released. This causes the steem-python library to break and require a manual change after installation.

I have helped quite a few people in the last few weeks install steem-python and had to walk them through manually editing the manifest file to work around this issue.

Solution

The fix is simple, and editing the requirements.txt to use tool version 0.9.3 instead of 0.9.3.1 solves the problem and works perfectly.

Summary

This situation should never happen. It is very bad practice to remove a package from a public package manager. The proper solution would have been to release 0.9.3.2 so third party projects like steem-python do not break. The solution is very simple, just use the previous version.

Links

Steem-python library
Steem-python - Pull Request 117

Sort:  

I think the official repo now uses pipenv, which means that the requirements.txt is not the dependency source, but a generated file (perhaps its in the repo for legacy reasons).

To update the dependencies, one would need to run pipenv update to refresh the Pipfile.lock.

To regenerate requirements.txt thereafter, one would run pipenv lock -r.

Great! Let's try to get this one merged.

Thank you for the information,,
Very helpful information,,Pray for us to succeed..!!

I will never forget :D Excellent work. All of your work -- especially the photos it nice idea. Really enjoyed reading your post, this made me pleased.

Jesus I had this exact issue a few days ago and felt like an idiot

It's frustrating, especially when you install it almost every day. I should have submitted a pull request a while ago.

how much time is needed to fix it


It doesn't seem to get updated too often. It can be manually fixed but it takes a few steps for every install.

It really a good solution. Sometimes getting older version is a right solution. Nice work. I find your posts to be very much helpfull and constructive.
Nice work
With all the respects and apprication i would like for you to see my blogs and advise me on what to do to increase my incomes and quality of blogs. My target is becoming a witness group in steem.
Respect

This has served as an answer to many of my questions. thanks for putting up this very interesting post. You can also see my fiction.
https://steemit.com/fiction/@penking/her-name-is-rita

.

I suspect it will be a while, it doesn't get updated much.

Good job brother,
Please vote my blog

Is this the issue I ran into when you helped me set up steem-python?

your post is really interesting and very needed for the future steemit development. thanks have [email protected] visit my post.

Thank you for sharing this tip. It helped me greatly.

@stevenmosoes

Oh dear. Why the hell is someone removing a released version again. This is really an extremly bad behaviour. I was really puzzeling a while, why nothing seems to work. This explained it quite well.