Steem Stats: Posts by Payout

in #steem-stats8 years ago (edited)

How exactly is payout distributed over the range of posts? To find out, I've created a simple script that takes data out of Steem blockchain.

After many hours of work, this is what the script has produced:

Wizarddatae89b7.png

By the time of writing this, a total of about 200k posts were created. As you might have expected, more than half of them earned nothing. About one in six posts earns $1 or more, while about one in 120 posts makes more than $1,000.

I'm not sure how encouraging or discouraging this might appear to you. To me, it's encouraging! One in 120 posts making some real money seems a huge number. It probably will decrease over time as more users compete for readers. Also, how many of all Facebook posts make any money through advertising? I don't have numbers, but I believe the ratio is much lower there.

So, what do you think?

I've used python-steem by @xeroc for blockchain parsing, and Chartblocks for the chart.

Sort:  

What is only missing here is the number of accounts for each reward category that made the specified number of posts... that would make the graph even more interesting.

Thanks, that's an interesting idea! I'll look into adding this.

Good chart draw for the Payout Posts