You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Golden advice for free. 50% in STEEM and 50% in SBD till the bull market return. Here is why!

in #steem6 years ago

That was hardly an insult.

So you're okay with him manipulating the comment section with bid bots and getting on trending by buying most bid bots?

You realize how that makes Steemit look, right?

Sort:  

He's only able to "manipulate" the comment section because of bid bots. You're attacking the symptom and not the root of the problem.

the root of the problem is the blockchain allowing bid bots to work right now. he chose to make his post look like its golden the same way he chose to buy so many votes to get it to trending.

there has to be a downside to promoting garbage, that's why i sacrificed cr to flag it so he'll lose roi. if it were good content i wouldn't have gone out of my way to flag it, like his song post for instance.

it feels like you're letting your beliefs affect your judgement of who to flag in the comments and who to protect on trending.

the root of the problem is the blockchain allowing bid bots to work right now.

Technology can't fix greed unfortunately. The problem are the bid bot owners that care more about profits than building this community and blockchain.

there has to be a downside to promoting garbage, that's why i sacrificed cr to flag it so he'll lose roi.

I agree and do appreciate all the good work you've done for Steem. I know you truly care for this blockchain and for that, I'll continue to hold you in high regards. But, let's please not be bullies. We can flag shitposts without insulting the content creator. These people are human man.

it feels like you're letting your beliefs affect your judgement of who to flag in the comments and who to protect on trending.

Perhaps it's the other way around? You are the one that randomly brought up flat earth in the comment section to degrade the man even further. I'm just curious, has he ever insulted you? It's a serious question and I don't know if you guys have any prior drama.

This is a very important point to remember. Thank you @fulltimegeek

"We can flag shitposts without insulting the content creator. These people are human man"

In our eagerness to remove negative behaviours, we mustn't throw the baby out with the bathwater. Hopefully some flags with a few bits of encouragement can turn a few of these people around. I remember someone once said something about hating the sin and loving the sinner :)

I think Steemit made a change b/c your comment didn't show up in my replies. They might be filtering negative rep ... sigh ... dang it ... I saw this on Steemd. Hopefully, it's just a glitch.

Thanks @fulltimegeek, I have had a few people say that recently. And I've had this negative rep for a while now and most just had to click through to see the comment.

Maybe I will just have to bite the bullet and use a vote bot a few times.

Thanks for all your support!

@kabir88

Technology can't fix greed unfortunately. The problem are the bid bot owners that care more about profits than building this community and blockchain.

I very much agree with that, that's why I built @ocdb in hopes that we grow a nice community of great authors without a middleman profiting immensely from the greed of the whales delegating to them.

And yeah, point taken. I'll be more careful with my comments in the future, I'm hoping they'll learn from it to at least create something worth pushing to trending. If it's good content he might even earn some votes and get a higher ROI out of it.

No real history/drama, I remember him talking about flat earth a lot in the beginning which is something I don't believe in. Then he went even further to promote a scam even though most of the Steem community was trying to warn those people not to promote it, seeing as some of these promoters may have ended up in jail or in real trouble it did automatically put him into those kind of people in my mind.

You're right though I should have not connected those dots in that comment, but I do agree that he is a bit odd as @netuoso claimed.