Steem Orientation

in #steem6 years ago

So, there's a lot of new people joining the platform. I'm doing my best to put out some educational content that will help them get started here and learn about this place. Frankly, Steem is tricky. Steem, steem power, SBD, vests, markdown, voting bots, blockchain, Discord, reward pool, and a million other buzzwords, vocab, and dynamics make this place hard. I haven't figured out a great way to fix it other than releasing some orientation posts every so often. I'm shooting for one a month.

Process

So, it's relatively simple. I start by announcing the orientation, and then treating it like any other broadcast out of msp-waves. I start by going through what the different buttons on the website do, and trying to talk through some of the terms they are going to see and interact with. After I've done that for literally 30-45 min I start taking questions.

The Video

So, here is my orientation from last Saturday the 17th of Feb. It's a pretty standard approach to explaining all this stuff. I think it's best for a brand new Steemian. "Hey I like art and photography... what the hell is this place?!?" If they say that kind of stuff they are the target audience!

Sort:  

It' a lot of fun. Just write about stuff you like and say it the way you want to say it and often people go for it. I have a serious Wordpress blog for professional stuff and a Steemit about nerdy gamer things. Guess which gets more views and engaging comment threads?

I’ve been on MSP for a little while now I really love what you’re doing for the community here, just caught your waves last night at the end but I’m gonna try tune in more often. Still kind of curious how this whole active Up vote thing works?

I guess maybe I was answered with votes?

Very useful info in the orientation. Best part was thinking about how to allocate time on the platform as a newbie Steemian (i.e. comments vs. blog posts vs. upvotes).

Thanks that you take your time and explain the basics. It can be very confusing in the beginning, so your post is more than welcome. With such a help it is easier to stay focused on my own goals on steemit.

The best platform got ever. The place is full of wonders. Just follow some rules and the platform is yours. You can everything you have in mind. Really lucky to get such a place. And thank you @aggroed.

You are doing excellent job by teaching newbies as they are the most deserved members to learn about this amazing platform.
Everyone who comes here experiences a very different environment than other social media. Here we can learn new things and improve ourselves to our own advantage. We grow together for good.
Your work is really great and helpful for many people who are flocking to steemit. They can learn a lot to make their lives better.

Great idea.

Really so many funny terms here, difficult for a minnow to understand. When I joined too, few weeks ago.. I always ask questions like seriously. Even my mentor was just always laughing. This is why the various steemian meet-ups are very essential for more knowledge and insight on the platform

Your blogs are always very informational and helpful. Thanks.

very informative post...thanks sir..upvt @restm sir

Keep it up we are with you.

V informative post but still i m blank

owo its a very Beautifull helpfull post siir @aggreaod thank you

Yeah, there's a steep learning curve to Steemit. I don't know if this will ever be much of a replacement for a place like facebook, as much as steemians would like it to. The fact is that there really is no huge amount of stuff to learn to use facebook or instagram or twitter. I really see this as one of the biggest things holding back the steemit platform.

There is definitely some ways of making Steemit easier to use and browse, but the crypto stuff, lingo and stuff like that will always be difficult for the average person. Maybe some day Steemit with steemit communities there will be a higher chance of competing with reddit, but the regular social media stuff will stick around as long as using Steemit correctly and safely is something that you even need to make tutorials for.

edit: i'm upvoting my own comment because I'm an attention whore.

excellent your post..i will done upvote and resteem

excellent your music post.i will done upvote

Wonderful job @aggroed
I will definitely resteem this

Thanks for the initiative in helping we minnows. Upvoted and resteemed!!!

That's great. I would tell my guys to always follow this. Have some new guys who will need such info

Resteemed for easy access because I know this is going to come in handy!

Although it’s a lot at first, new comers should get familiar with these terms if they want to succeed! Thanks for starting this initiative to support the newcomers!

Nice post

its very helpfull video sir @aggroed thank you for shareing
Screenshot-2018-2-26  aggroed.png

That's very good of you, orientation will go a long way in helping the new people coming into steemit
I wish I had such orientation,but I know it is never to late to change things.
Thanks alot for the post

I always refer them to https://steemit.com/welcome and https://steemit.com/faq.html

If any one wants to learn how to Power Up,i just did a tutorial an hour ago,you can check on my blog if interested anyway!

Excellent steemit, nice post, thanks for sharing

Honestly steemit is discouraging initially...i had so much to learn and am still learning, just convinced someone to join but he is really getting discouraged, his introduction isnt even upto $1, by your permission, i can drop the link to his page

very good your orientation my cord helps a lot. regards...

Nice your post

good points here! I've been on the platform for over a month and I can still use some education myself! I'm gonna do more to share what I know!

Cool post..thumbs up

Thanks for your blog i learned a love. God bless..

well done,sir.your post is very informative for us.thank you,sir.

@upvote & @resteem done

You are a great help to all of us noobs trying to make some headway on the platform. Thanks for taking time to help build a better community!

Nice post.. Thanks for giving this. I like your post very much.. Keep it up.. Stay blessed be happy.. Thank you..

Hello! Can you add subtitles to your blogs? For people who have hearing problems, this will be very useful.
Thank you.

Great idea and post. I'm in just this month and found this very helpful. Thanks for sharing! @journeyfreedom

thank you so much...resteem & upvote done...

This video helped a lot aggroed. Thank you for taking the time to inform us newbies.

Postingan anda sangat luar biasa bagi kami peyngguna baru apa kah anda bersedia vote kami dengan kami transfer SBD untuk anda kami pengguna baru membutuh kan tingkat suara postingan kami mohon bantuan nya segera

with time, all these terms shall be easy to understand for minnows such as me.

Steemit IS tricky. But the rewards are amazing.

And i am not (just) talking about the monetary rewards...

Many will get it pretty useful buddy !Putting it on my checklist will look at it very closely !Keep up the good work buddy !

It can definitely tricky. My friends today asked me where does the steem come from? I told them we get paid from the reward pool. So they asked me where does the steem come from the goes in the reward pool? I mentioned that we post to get paid, and that we upvote each other's posts and things like that. So once again they asked me but where does it come from?

So, I am an almost 2 day old minnow...and I need to comment. a lot. that sounds like the easiest part of being here, LOL. thank you for this helpful video @aggroed, I've already watched it twice. I know it won't be the last time. seriously. a friend of @daniarnold.

So nice of you for explaining the basics. so useful @aggroed!