You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Who deserves more? Authors or curators?

in #steem5 years ago

I neither agree nor disagree with your post. But it makes me look at the Steem ecology with a more analytic eye. I stumbled into this universe because it was a nice place to blog. Simplistic, right? That makes me a content creator, I guess. I never looked at the platform as an investment vehicle. The money aspect just adds a little zip, a sort of Pavlovian incentive to write an article that attracts interest.
Is the platform healthier if there are a million bloggers like me, who happily blog so long as we get our little rewards, a little zip? Is there a question of advertiser dollars, that would increase with larger numbers, with more 'content creators? And isn't it true that creators may be tempted from time to time to become 'stakeholders'--invest a couple of dollars for more platform navigability? (Yeah, it did happen to me. My husband gave me a couple of presents so I'd have more 'fun'.)
Would I go away with a 50/50 split? Probably not. But when I get a really sorry return on a blog I am disappointed, discouraged. That is a disincentive to engagement. Would that hurt the platform? If content creators are discouraged and stop creating, would that be good for Steem?
I don't know any of those answers. I just operate from my little microcosm, from my simple perspective. Why am I here? Do I bring value to the platform? What would happen if all the people who are similarly motivated went away, if Steem were left with an ocean of stakeholders calculating to get the highest return on their stakes without regard to quality of experience?
I don't know. Hope smarter people than I am come up with the right answers.