Sort:  

Yes, except maybe not slowly.

I guess pure market rules can't ever keep human greed in check.

Afraid not. As long as an exploit exists, there's gonna shady people to take advantage. It's the nature of man.

Hmmm. I guess there should be some system of admonishing such behavior, so that people can be dissuaded from repeating the mistakes.

People are people.

Such a wide range of human attitudes surely makes it inevitable.

I guess we need to introduce some kind of authority at some point

I don't know exactly how an "authority" would be implemented in a decentralized ecosystem. However, I do think that better self-policing mechanisms would be a step in the right direction. On that note, you may be interested in the following initiative. The idea is to reward users to flag abuse, overvalued post, etc


https://steemit.com/@steemflagrewards

By authority, I meant a system by which users can collectively help in keeping spammers and such other content in check. This initiative is actually like what I had in mind.