You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A few unpretentious solutions for Steem

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

As said, but in fact we agree on everything (especially on the Steem blockchain value), I think SMTs are great and needed. I'm just saying there's no rush.
We wouldn't want the "infrastructure" value of the SMTs being overshadowed by a potential bloodbath with all tokens plunging to zero.
Maybe I got a vision too short term, as this will be forgotten and the intrinsic (technical) value of SMTs will persist, whether the first tokens have value or not, but I'm also very wary about "image risk" that potential "scams" or investors losing a lot of money could have.
Maybe I'm more focused on bringing more "business" value before adding more "technical" value (that for me, Steem has already plenty of, and a lot more yet undiscovered). And this "business" value can be brought now, no need for SMTs for that.

Sort:  

Well, better infrastructure and technic could boost the steem price..
People are waiting for years.
Steem could easily be an own, not btc dependent, market wave. :)

Doesnt the so called Business or companies, which want to build upon steem, rely on given infrastructure?

I think with a bit more development there will be many decentralized companies and projects on steem :)

Sure, but what I'm saying is that Steem in its current form (without SMTs) already has the technological base to allow development and projects (as the thriving developement community and all the new apps that flourish just prove everyday).
Of course SMTs could bring more of that.
It's just a question of point of view and perception. SMTs are much waited yes... Here on Steem. Is it the case anywhere else ? I don't know.

Personally (and that's only my opinion), I would prefer to see, for now, more apps like Oracle-D, who are business-oriented and are bringing capital in the Steem ecosystem (and not planning any SMT), than to see SMTs "the sooner the better".