You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SteemiTron Live Video Recap - Live Notes, My Thoughts, and TONS of Articles

in #steem4 years ago

To my thinking, it's how they deal with the issue of Steempower holdings that will mark the ethics involved in this new alliance. People can move their Steem and Steemdollars out fairly easily on their own accord but the Steempower is a bit of a different issue. If they find a way to be ethical there then it might all work out. It's an interesting tension between the private ownership ethos and collective ethical concerns.

Sort:  

Ya, the 13-week lockdown on SP makes it tricky when dealing with things like this, where they just spring news on the world all of a sudden, with no details, after having already made decisions that affect all of us.

I see the big deciding factor being whether they just put money, manpower, and publicity into the blockchain, or whether they start trying to siphon resources out of Steem onto their blockchain.

It all comes down to whether they truly want to join & collaborate with our community, or try to eat it up. Is TRON going to be a piece of our decentralized ecosystem, or are they going to try to centralize it?

When B.J. sold his zaadz site to Gaiam they simply did a hard shut down with no input from the users. I was pissed...
When the corporatocracy outsourced manufacturing to the far east they abandoned and destroyed whole communities and ways of living.
So the precedents don't bode well.

Very true, and exactly why I started powering down, just to be safe.

I never put a dollar into Steem (just tens of thousands of hours of my time and creativity), and I've pulled out lots of funds along the way, but I've never lost hope for this blockchain.

Even if Justin's plans go in the worst possible direction, I think the community will hard-fork away and we'll finally have a Steem without StInc... but good lord will that be a headache, and will likely kill the price.

If members are helped to see the new steem as now belonging to them and not to the @slothful.whales , they might be willing to make a few sacrifices to give it a sound future. If we, the posters commit (with the witnesses standing alongside us) I think the market will take note and make investments (I would look for smaller investments so that no one corp or person can take over again).


Posted via Steeming.com