Google is learning what Apple already knows (or Why our Steem needed its own currency)

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

Steve was right?

Even though Apple is quite down the drain right now with little to no innovation happening, there is one thing they got right back in the day of the great and mighty: a direct control over its entire ecosystem by working on both the hardware and the software themselves. That gave unlimited power over what they can do with their products and incredible advantages over what others struggled to do while satisfying multiple mistresses (Yes I'm looking at you Google!).


Now, Google's playing catch-up (as with everything except Google Search) and will soon launch a bunch of new products and they are finally starting to get it. They took on iOS with Android and on Windows with ChromeOS a while ago like a weird guy trying to win two new girlfriends at the same time, yet was left with the same old way of satisfying their stakeholders (¯_(ツ)_/¯).

Good morning!

Here's the line-up expected in Q3 this year:

Attention Economy 101, by Google

So on one hand Google is focusing even more on barging into your life, house, internet, business etc., but they are also starting to slowly switch towards the only way they can be successful end to end which is to own each and every step of their products life by taking on full ownership of the hardware and software of their products. Basically a Google enthusiast might have the company peak into his/hers smartphone, internet connection, computer, TV, streaming, house automation and also e-mail, searches, music.
Is there anything left? YUP! Social Media. Google+ is a complete flop and here's where others like Steemit might come handy by the time Google gets on top of it years from now.

Why our ecosystem needed its own currency?

Well, not for much just maybe to have:

  • A censorship free and independent environment (true anarchy baby!)
  • Ability to develop other sustaining measures such as free transactions because duh!, SBD for stability, Steem Power for no rage bailout dumps
  • Because other blockchain tech was light years behind in transaction speed (not you BTS, you're cool)
  • To remain unaffected by other major events on the same parent blockchain (DAO for Ethereum for ex.)
  • Cause it's cool to have your own coin! (<- i made that one up but Dan knows what I'm talking about. Got brownies?)

The beginning of a beautiful friendship

Steem(it) is directly proposing something that nobody else is at the moment. This great moment, if leveraged properly, can really put a dent into this world's course. ( I know there's others out there with plans for a decentralized social media platform but their future is already a present for Steemit so meh!)

Here's to the crazy ones...


I'm going to @steemfest, are you?

I hope so because I need a roomie at Volks. Hit me up on steemit.chat directly or on #steemfest..

Sort:  

So on one hand Google is focusing even more on barging into your life, house, internet, business etc.,

great article, I like what you said. lol funny and true that you mentioned that. I really like google and its innovation but I have a problem with how hard it is constantly pushing itself into every aspect of my life. I do not plan on using any of there other products because of this besides the places that I'm already using google like email.

Thank you for reading it. Yea, I hope we won't be limoted in what we can do in the future and be forced to use Big Brotherish services..

I've just been seeing google constantly expand the surveillance with each of there services, especially when they combined all there product and apps together in 2013. so yes, i am cautious

I always saw it as an Apple/ Samsung battle, maybe just because I think in terms of hardware first.
Do you think we have an instinct against centralization which may preclude a second provider from buying up too much of the supply chain?
It'd be interesting to see how many steemers are apple fans; I'd predict fewer than in society generally, as we're instinctively drawn to a decentralised model.

good call for me apple is too expensive so i have brought samsung

I never (yup, never) paid their full price for the phones. Always got them with various deals on mobile plans, points earned from credit card use and other lifehacks. iPhone 6 plus I got last year was about 15 bucks.

I don't like the way it's a walled garden. I like a little more freedom, even if it's a little dangerous.

Mobile hardware wise yeah, Apple/Samsung would be the current game.

I think centralization is something we understand as a natural state as we grow with it and maybe think that it's the way it should be. I also think the market creates the demand so something gets centralized attention only if it sparks great interest. We still have monopolies around in many places (bitcoin for example is quite a monopoly cap wise in crypto transactions) but as people are different so are their needs and there will always be potential for diversification. I think the centralisation interests are far greater focused on personal, financial gains eather than instinct and integrity.

I'm an Apple head myself but I don't own everything Apple has due to being practical and getting only the stuff I need. I've had iPhones since the 3G (I waited to see if the 2G is a flop) due to everyone around me having one and I got caught in the environment (iMessage, Facetime, Content sharing, etc.) with my family and friends. Nowadays that kind of shifts as there are a lot of other options (Messenger, WhatsApp etc.). I have an older macbook due to it being very good (hw/OS) etc. I get as much control I currently need form my phone even though I'm boxed a lot by iOS but I also think there's less Apple fans in crypto currency.

I believe Steemit is achieving something amazing in terms of creating a cryptoworld where you don't need to know or understand what a blockchain is. You just use it and enjoy the community with the benefit of owning a piece of it.

Thanks for reading and commenting!

Planning to go, but likely like other Russian based Steemians, I'll be bumming it out via Couchsurfing or something like that. Also a great opportunity to spread knowledge about Steemit to to other cool peeps.