You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 10 reasons why to create an app on the Steem blockchain

in #steem7 years ago

I totally agree with you, but couldn't have articulated it so well.

I'm in the midst of shifting my R&D time towards Steem for exactly these reasons. I've only known about Steemit for a couple of months but see dozens of opportunities. It feels like the Internet in 1996 again, only this time I think I know enough to benefit.

The 'Steem Community' feature sounds very interesting, but I'm not easily finding any information about it. Do you remember where you heard about it please?

Sort:  

Excellent questions really!

It made me look in to the Steem roadmap.

Your question is actually answered on page 9.

https://steem.io/2017roadmap.pdf

Thanks. I must have read that before I had a better idea what it was all about, so it didn't sink in. It's quite elegant to extend the tags to support differential moderation like that.

I was wondering about how to use the Steem blockchain for other apps without being subject to flagging within Steemit.

I'll read the document thoroughly again today.

Good question!

I hope some features will be built in to make a certain community kind of secluded from the rest of the Steem platform.

We'll have to see and wait.

I think the way tags are added to posts should handle this, as they suggest Steemit will respect the seclusion.

If you're interested, here's one embryonic site I'm working on:
http://www.steemreports.com

I'm not even sure what direction it will take yet, but initially it'll be a kind of index of experiments I think.

Nice work! That's a handy tool!

Thanks for the votes!

I think the open mic chart interface (and future similar interfaces) would be able to allow voting on entries without needing the user to go to Steemit.com.

Currently though, to enable that I would need to establish whether enough people use (or would be happy to sign-up for) steemconnect.com or busy.org, and it's hard to gauge. Steemit's complicated enough for most people already without requiring another related account login.

Only one way to find out.

You can write some updates about the apps you are making on Steemit and see if people are interested.

The top voters calculator is certainly something I will be using. Nice to see the results shown in a chart.