What is the huge new @misterdelegation account for?

in #steem7 years ago

As @penguinpablo reported, steemit transfered 5,000,000 Steem Power to @misterdelegation yesterday.

This is a very interesting development, and like others I've been speculating about what it means.

It's curious that according to steemd (thanks @lukestokes for pointing this out), it was created using the anonymous account service 'anonsteem', steemit isn't the owner account, but has the active key (so can control most aspects of the account). One might speculate that on the back on Ned's successful delegation experiment, Steemit has decided to sell some SP to an investor (and run the account for them) in return for an income stream. If so, it'll be interesting to see who gets the delegation this time.

Alternatively, could this be preparation for the long awaited communities? Perhaps each community leader will receive delegation from this account, which they can use to shape their community. This seems to tie in with the announcement by @furion of the Upcoming: Hive DB. This is a database which will 'contain data needed for the upcoming communities', and which looks likely to finish synchronizing with the blockchain in the next few days.

But does anybody have any better ideas?

Sort:  

We are all watching

That's a very large pool of influence, I'm keen to see exactly how it is employed, if possible. Thanks for the heads up, have a vote up, and a resteem to spread the news.

Hopefully I'm wrong but my first thought was that the wealthy elite are here to take over this platform and eventually shut it down. Fingers crossed the founders have something in place to prevent that from happening.

I suppose it's always possible, but I can think of easier ways to do it if it was going that way.

Maybe it were hackers 😈

Luckily, that seems unlikely :)

Or is it just used to delegate SP to newly created accounts? I heard the old account used for that is running low on SP.

I'd welcome more delegation from Steemit Inc though.

Possibly, but I don't think so because from what I've read, after HF20, delegation to new accounts is supposed to no longer be required for operational bandwidth.

I see, I do hope then the account is used for delegating SP to active users on the platform. Thank you for information.

It would be good to spot "trend setters" among each category (tag) and give them more power that they can use to distribute it further by voting. Start the growth of future whales from the bottom.

I hope to see it delegating to active Steemians to spread the love. We need more people voting so the rewards are not concentrated on a few

I very much agree.

I think it's mainly to help lower the price of Steem by destroying Steemit accounts. :(
Seriously I noticed that mister gave a lot of delegations to the bot fla**ers. :(

Nice article buddy, very informative....thanks for sharing.....upvote done and following you...checkout some articles on my blog @abedoonsubhani ....cheers...!!

Keep us updated! Resteemed

Did you ever get to the bottom of this?

I am on the hunt for delegations and I wouldn't mind tracking this down :)

No, I never did. Communities was certainly further away than I'd expected though!